Zamalek win first continental trophy in 16 years after edging RS Berkane

Egyptian Giants Zamalek FC ended their 16 year wait continental glory after edging Moroccan side RS Berkane on penalties.

Carrying a slender 1-0 advantage, the Moroccans tried to employ a more cautious approach but they were broken in the early stages of the second period thanks to a penalty by Mahmoud Alaaeldin.

The Moroccans were further weakened by the expulsion of defender Omar Namsaoui after VAR caught him for having elbowed a Zamalek opponent.

With the aggregate score tied on 1-1, it was left to the spot kicks to separate the two sides.

RS Berkane's Hamdi Laachir missed his kick whereas the Egyptians faultlessly converted all their kicks yo seal victory for Zamalek.