WOODBALL : Big names miss out as Uganda names final team for Beach Circuit World Cup


The Uganda Woodball Federation technical committee concluded the trials for the National Woodball teams to represent Uganda at the second edition of the Beach Woodball world cup Championship.

Eight men and eight women constitute the senior team whereas eight boys and eight girls make up the youth team. The trials which were held at Spennah Beach started earlier this month.

Opio Emmanuel Ecuru, Gwaaka Brian, Muwanguzi Israel Kayongo and Bossa Bruno missed on the final list in the men’s category.

The trio represented Uganda at the first edition of the Beach Woodball world cup which was hosted by Indonesia in 2017.

Lillian Zawedde, Namuddu Sophie and Kagaba Charity who represented Uganda at the 8th World cup Woodball Championship in Thailand were the notable women to miss the cut.

Uganda will host the 2019 Beach Woodball world cup between 24th May and 31st of the same month at Spennah Beach, Entebbe.

The eight men who make up the cut are ;
Towong Geoffrey ( Ndejje University), Kedi Thomas ( Stroke Woodball Club), Byamukama Bridge ( Kampala International University), Ssensalo Charles ( Ndejje University), Mutibwa Robert ( Ndejje University), Adupa Joel ( Ndejje University), Mugume Watson ( Kampala International University) and Musinguzi Wilson ( Kampala International University)

Women who on the final list are ;
Nanjeru Denise Pulkeria ( Stroke Woodball Club), Mukoova Joan ( Ndejje University), Mukoya Florence ( Stroke Woodball Club), Nabaggala Rose Sandra ( Ndejje University), Kirungi Moreen ( Kampala International University), Athieno Mary ( Ndejje University) and Nsula Jackie ( Ndejje University)

Youth Boys
Suuna Timothy ( Air force SS), Otim Simon Peter ( Luzira S.S), Ogalo Patrick ( Entebbe S.S), Okidi Brian ( Luzira S.S), Kidega Pascal ( Air Force S.S), Turyamuhakyi Micheal ( Malongo Baptist High School), Kayongo Jeff ( Ndejje S.S) and Bugembe Jonathan ( Kyambogo College)

Youth Girls
Neteese Idris Rashida ( Mpoma S.S), Anyimo Brenda ( Luzira S.S), Nalujja Amina ( Air force S.S), Kanyunyuzi Grace ( Mary Reparatrix Girls School), Namubiru Shamim ( Mulongo Baptist High School( and Akuguzibwe Lyiola ( Kisubi Mapeera S.S)

The teams will begin non residential training on April, 7th 2019 with the national team head coach Atamba Onesmus conducting the sessions.

%d bloggers like this: