Wakiso Giants clinch Premier League promotion, Entebbe and Nebbi central relegated

Sinan Rajub SENOGA

Wakiso Giants became the first team to win promotion to the StarTimes Uganda Premier League after overcoming Entebbe FC at Bugembe stadium.

Norman Ogik and Ivan Kiweewa Kalolo scored in each half to ensure victory for the Purple Sharks.

Ogik fired a powerful left foot rocket from Kiweewa’s through ball in the 37th minute to give Ibrahim Kirya’s coached team a deserved lead.

The visitors rallied through defender Kenneth Madira who headed home an equaliser at the stroke of halftime from the corner.

Kiweewa restored Wakiso Giants’ lead at the hour mark and sealed it for the Purple Sharks who came into the game needing three points to confirm promotion with a game to spare.

Kiweeka produced a stellar performance to ease the nerves of the highly expectant Wakiso Giants fans

The result sent Wakiso Giants to 40 points, five better than second placed Kyetume who thumped bottom placed Nebbi Central 5-1 at Nakisunga grounds.

Veteran striker Robert Sentongo scored a hat trick while Deo Isega and Tarzan Kambugu scored the others for Jackson Mayanja’s side.

UPDF took up the third place status after a 4-1 drubbing of Light SSS at Bombo at the expense of Dove All Stars who lost 1-0 to Bukedea Town Council at Emokori grounds.

Michael Siwu’s 46th minute goal sent Doves All Stars’ playoff hopes into tatters. The West Nile outfit will play their final game against Wakiso Giants hoping UPDF lose against Nebbi Central.

Kataka FC edged JMC Hippos 1-0 at Kakindu to create a tense league climax as far as the relegation fight is concerned.

Wakiso Giants players join Kiwewa in celebration for his goal

Kataka, now eighth with 21 points play against Amuka Bright Stars (ninth with 20 points) in a game that will see the eventual loser being relegated.

Relegation Fight
With Nebbi Central and Entebbe FC confirmed relegated, the final two teams will either be Amuka Bright Stars (20 points), Kataka (21 points), JMC Hippos (21 points) or Bukedea Town Council (22 points).

Full Results
Elgon Group
• UPDF 4-1 Light SSS
• Kyetume 5-1 Nebbi Central
• Wakiso Giants 2-1 Entebbe FC
• Bukedea Town Council 1-0 Dove All Stars
• JMC Hippos 0-1 Kataka FC

Rwenzori Group
• Proline 1-1 Kansai Plascon
• Dove 1-0 Kiboga Young

%d bloggers like this: