Vipers fight back from a goal down to sweep Proline aside

By: Erias Kayondo

Vipers Sc came from a goal down to criuse past Proline in a 3-1encounter courtesy of goals from Moses Waiswa, Pius Wangi and Daniel Sserunkuma against Gift Ali’s 8th minute excellently curved Freekick to hold on the lead as league nears closure.

Proline looked a well organized side at the start of the game. They played with all the vigour and urgency , searching for goals hungrily and it paid off within just 8 minutes when Geoffrey Wasswa brought down Joshua Okiror at the edge of the box and Gift Ali excellently converted the resultant free-kick.

Vipers then played like real men on mission, making constant attacks to the Proline goal area and defender Yayo Lutimba tried his luck with a long range shot which kissed the woodwork at 21 minutes into play before Moses Waiswa tried one 12 minutes later but was denied by goalkeeper Said Keni.

Moses Waiswa had another live chance to try his luck and he took a long range strike from outside the goal area which beat Keni and into the back of the net to level matters for the guests with just 3 minutes to halftime.

Into the second half, Vipers Sc made what later appeared a super substitute when Tom Masiko was replaced by Pius Wangi who scored the second goal for the Kitende based side only 10 minutes after coming on with a close range shot.

With the hosts looking exhausted, defender Mustafa Mujuzi lousely headed the ball that was picked by Daniel Sserunkuma and he perfectly placed it into the back of the net to send the Kitende faithfuls into celebrations with only 3 minutes left to play.

The win extends Vipers lead on the table with 55 points while Proline remain 15th with 26 points.

Vipers will host Police on Friday 5th, May, 2018 in their next fixture while Proline FC will visit Mbarara city FC on Saturday 6th, May, 2018 at Kakyeka stadium in Mbarara.

Proline XI
Said Keni(GK), Saka Mpiima, Simon Mbaziira, Musa Kundi, Mustafa Mujuzi, Joseph Mandela, Gift Ali, Ronald Musana, Arnold Sserinjogi, Daniel Isiagi, Joshua Okiror.

Nasser Lwamunda(GK), Noordin Bunjo, Ibrahim Sendi, Bright Anukani, Alex Ewuchie Dichima, Iyasele Odili, Richard Luyima.

Vipers XI
Ismail Watenga(GK), Yayo Lutimba, Bashir Asiku, Geoffrey Wasswa, Shafik Bakaki, Tadeo Lwanga, Tom Masiko, Moses Waiswa, Duncan Sseninde, Erisa Ssekisambu, Daniel Sserunkuma

Eric Kibowa, Deus Bukenya, Musa Mbayi, Pius Wangi, Ashiraf Bamutulaki, Baden Mujahid, Steven Mukwala

%d bloggers like this: