Uzbekistan beat Uganda Cranes to win 2022 Navruz Cup

Sinan Rajab SENOGA

Uzbekistan 4-2 Uganda

Uzbekistan has defeated Uganda Cranes 4-2 in the final of the 2022 Navruz Cup final in Namangan, Uzbekistan.

AS Roma striker Eldor Shomurodov scored a hat trick and inspired the hosts to a commanding win over Micho’s coached team.

Jaloliddin Masharipov gave Uzbekistan the lead when he scored in an empty net when Herbert Achai miscommunicated with goalkeeper Nafian Alionzi in the 34th minute.

Four minutes later, Masharipov turned provider when he exchanged with Shomurodov who brilliantly put the ball far beyond Alionzi’s gloves to make it 2-0.

Farouk Miya had a chance to reduce the deficit with a free kick at the stroke of halftime but his effort was well saved by the keeper.

Moments into the second half, Micho introduced Milton Karisa for Fahad Bayo.

Miya scored Uganda’s first goal from a well delivered cross by Karisa in the 52nd minute.

Three minutes later, Shomurodov restored Uzbekistan’s two goal cushion with an easy finish from a well orchestrated counter attack.

The AS Roma striker nearly made it 3 in the similar fashion but his effort kissed the lower post five minutes later.

Micho brought on Bobosi Byaruhanga for Moses Waiswa, Allan Okello for Steven Sserwadda and Aziz Kayondo for Achai.

Derrick Kakooza was also introduced for Soltilo Bright Stars midfielder Marvin Youngman in the 69 minute.

Uganda kept pressing for another goal but it was Uzbekistan who scored next.

Shomurodov got enough space to fire home his third goal and Uzbekistan’s fourth of the day in the 72nd minute.

Emmanuel Okwi scored Uganda’s second goal with a thumping shot from outside the box in the 78th minute but was not enough for the Cranes to avoid defeat.

KCCA’s Rogers Mato was also thrown on the pitch for Allan Kyambadde in the added four minutes but made no impact.

Uganda finished second while Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan came third and fourth respectively.

Uganda Cranes XI; Alionzi Nafian, Allan Kyambadde, Herbert Achai, Livingstone Mulondo, Halid Lwaliwa, Marvin Youngman, Moses Waiswa, Steven Sserwadda, Fahad Bayo, Farouk Miya, Emma Okwi

Used Subs; Aziz Kayondo, Bobosi Byaruhanga, Rogers Mato, Milton Karisa, Allan Okello, Derrick Kakooza

Unused Subs; Benjamin Ochan, James Begisa, Hassan Jurua, Martin Kizza

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: