Uganda’s opponents South Sudan disqualified from the U-17 CECAFA Championship


South Sudan have been disqualified from the U-17 CECAFA Zonal Qualifiers in Rwanda.

Four players from the South Sudan U-17 national team have failed the Magnetic Resonance Imagining(MRI) test which was conducted by the tournament organisers and CAF medical team.

The CAF rules clearly starts a team is disqualified once any of their players fails the MRI test.

South Sudan were to kick off the tournament against defending Champions Uganda (The Cubs) at 1:00pm at Umuganda Stadium in Rubavu.

The tournament now remains with six teams grouped in two groups.

Group A has Uganda Kenya and Ethiopia while Group B has Rwanda, Tanzania and Djibouti.

The Cubs will now open their tittle defence against neighbors Kenya on Tuesday 15th December at 1:00pm

The two finalists will have to represent the CECAFA region in the AFCON U-17 Championship in Morocco come next year.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: