UGANDA CUP: Proline, Wakiso, Tooro storm round of 16


Uganda Cup holders Proline FC, Wakiso Giants and Tooro United became the first teams to storm the round of 16 of the Stanbic Uganda Cup.

Proline FC edged Eastern region side Admin FC 5-3 on the spot kicks following a full-time one-all stalemate at StarTimes Stadium, Lugogo.

Musitafa Mujuzi, Hamis Diego Kiiza, Brian Umony, James Begesa and Rodgers Mato converted their penalties.

Hassan Matovu saved Walter Alele’s penalty while Allan Kirunda, Raymond Othieno and Vitas Obo all managed to score from the spot.

Kiiza had scored for Proline FC in the first half before Alele levelling matters in the normal time play.

At Bishops grounds, Mukono goals from captain Mike Kawooya and new signing Nicholas Kagaba saw Tooro United eliminate FUFA Big League side Kansai Plascon be 2-1.

Henry Kitegenyi scored the consolation for Kansai Plascon four minutes to full-time.

Wakiso Giants humiliated MYDA 5-0 at Kabaka Kyabaggu grounds in Wakiso.

Hassan Ssenyonjo bagged a brace, Lawrence Bukenya, Amos Muwonge and Godfrey Sserunkuma were all on target for Steven Bengo’s coached side who is serving as an interim coach replacing Livingston Mbabazi who was shown exit.

Action resumes on Wednesday 12th February with two games.

URA FC will host Nyamityobora FC in Ndejje while Express FC will play against Maroons FC at Kavumba.

Matchday Results

Kansai Plascon 1-2 Tooro United.
Proline FC 1(5)-1(3) Admin FC.
Wakiso Giants 5-0 MYDA.

Wednesday 12th February Fixtures

URA FC Vs Nyamityobora FC – Arena of Visions, Ndejje
Express FC Vs Maroons FC – Kavumba recreation Center grounds

%d bloggers like this: