Uganda cruise past Eritrea to win 15th CECAFA title


Bright Anukani, Mustafa Kizza and Joel Madondo scored a goal each for the Cranes against Eriteria to deliver 15th CECAFA title for Uganda.

The title marks Jonathan McKinstry’s first as Uganda’s national team head coach since taking over in October.

Anukani opened the scoring with a tap in off an Allan Okello assist after 32 minutes of play.

Kizza doubled the lead 23 minutes into the second stanza before substitute Madondo made it 3-0 in the dying minutes.

Madondo came on for Fahad Bayo on 83 minutes and scored the third one four minutes later.

The tournament that has lasted for two weeks saw Kenya’s Oscar Wamalwa emerge the topscorer having scored three goals while Eriteria’s Robel Teklemichael was named the Most Valuable Player (M.V.P).

Uganda also scooped the Fair Play award and goalkeeper Charles Lukwago was named the best goalkeeper of the tournament.

%d bloggers like this: