STANBIC UGANDA CUP: Proline score twice to gain first leg advantage over Kyetume


Ibrahim Bonyo and Mustafa Mujuzi scored each half to earn Proline FC a precious victory away to Kyetume FC at Nakisunga Grounds Mukono before Robert Ssentongo pulled one back.

Ibrahim Bonyo put Proline FC in the lead in the 24th minute off a well delivered through pass from Noordin Bunjo past Benon Tahomera beating goalkeeper Ismail Zziwa

Two minutes later Deo Isega of Kyetume FC was substituted and replaced by Tazan Kambugu after sustaining an injury.

Faisal Luhasimba Malanga and Robert Sentongo tried their luck but could not break through Proline defenders commanded by Mustafa Mujuzi and Ibrahim Sendi.

Four minutes into the second stanza, Mustafa Mujuzi doubled Proline FC’s lead through a well taken free kick direct to the back of the net.

After conceding the second goal goalkeeper Ismail Zziwa was replaced by Emmanuel Kalyowa

Robert Ssentongo managed to reduce the deficit in the 60th minute through a simple tap in after shot stopper Hassan Matovu miss calculating the ball.

The two will face off in the return leg on Sunday 5th May at StarTimes Stadium Lugogo to determine who makes it to the finals to face the winner between Express FC and Bright Stars who played to a one all stalemate in the first leg at Mwererwe.

Richard Ajuna and Joseph Mandela of Proline FC were booked while Julius Lule was the only player for Kyetume to be yellow carded.

Kyetume XI

Ismail Zziwa (GK), Philemon Lutaya, Moses Magulu, Julius Lule, Benon Tahomera, Deo Iseja, Patrick Ochan, Vincent Kayizzi, Faisam Luhasimba, Robert Sentongo, Denis Lubowa.

Proline XI

Hassan Matovu ( GK), James Begesa, Ibrahim Sendi Mustafa Mujuzi, Richard Ajuna, Sam Kintu, Joseph Mandela, Noordin Bunjo, Arnold Sserunjogi, Ibrahim Bonyo, Ibrahim Wammanah

%d bloggers like this: