South Africa and Egypt to have four clubs in the CAF Club Cups

Mamelodi Sundowns are the reigning Champions of the CAF champions league. (Courtesy photo) 

By: Danito Nsubuga 

Following the CAF committee symposium held in Rabat Morocco on the 20 the of July this year, South Africa and Egyptian clubs have emerged the biggest beneficiaries after a resolution has been passed that the two countries shall produce four teams each for the CAF club competitions.

This comes after a series of positive performances exhibited by Clubs from these two countries. South African giants Mamelodi Sundowns are the reigning Champions of the CAF champions league and at the same time, this year they have made it to the quarterfinals of the same competition whereas Super sport United are also representing the rainbow nation well.

Egyptian football has always been on the up and their clubs have always finished in the latter stages of the CAF competition, Al Ahly, Zamalek, Al Masry and others have done massively better than the rest of their West African and East African counterparts.

The league’s in these two countries are at a high professional level with high sponsorship partnerships and television viewership across the continent which interpreted into high sources of revenue and competitiveness.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: