Simba SC win 2019/20 Tanzania Vodacom Premier League with six rounds to play


Simba Sports Club are the champions of the 2019/20 Tanzania Vodacom Premier League after playing out to a goalless draw with Tanzania Prisons FC on Sunday.

The draw sent Simba to 79 points, 19 clear of second-placed rivals Yanga Africans with only six rounds to play.

The 2019/20 championship is Simba’s 21st title and third consecutive since the 2017/18 season. Only Yanga Africans (with 22 titles) have won more league titles than Simba.

The title is also the first for Belgian coach Sven Vandenbroeck who replaced his compatriot Patrick Aussems in December last year.

Simba is home to Ugandan turned Rwandan striker Meddie Kagere who currently tops the scorers’ log with 20 goals.

Nicholas Wadada’s Azam FC is third on the table with 59 points, one adrift of Yanga Africans.

Other Ugandan players in the Tanzanian League include Boban Zirintusa (Mtibwa Sugar), Jackson Kibirige (Kagera Sugar) and striker Seiri Arigumaho (Singida United).

Saturday Results
Young Africans 3-2 Ndanda
Biashara 1-1 Azam
Singida United 2-3 Lipuli
Mbeya City 2-0 JKT
Alliance 1-0 Coastal Union
Kagera Sugar 1 -1 Kinondoni
Mwadui 1-0 Mtibwa Sugar
Ruvu Shooting 1-1 Namungo

Sunday Results
Tanzania Prisons 0-0 Simba
Mbao FC 0-1 Polisi Tanzania

%d bloggers like this: