SC Villa unveil 2017/18 season squad. 

By: Danito Nsubuga 

Record league champions SC Villa have today presented to their fans the squad to be used for the upcoming 2017/18 season at their training base in Nsambya (Villa Park) a function that was presided over by newly appointed club patron Gerald Wasswa Kasozi.

Club patron Gerald Wasswa Kasozi presided over the function 

Among the squad, are 10 new signings who include exciting youngster Abdallah Salim who has been promoted from the U17s, he will be donning shirt 30.

Also unveiled was club legend Paul Mukatabala who will serve in the capacity of assistant coach to head coach Wasswa Bbosa. Mukatabala is a member of the great SC Villa crop that played back to back finals of the CAF champions league between 1991 and 1993. This will be his 2nd stint in the same capacity after serving under Joseph Kanaba on interim basis.

Legend Paul Mukatabala will serve as the assistant coach to Wasswa Bbosa 

On the same event, the club also launched the new automated membership cards and seasonal tickets that will be used this year. Ordinary tickets will go for 75,000/= and VIP fans will have to part with 150,000/=. Membership cards will range from 10,000/=, 100,000/= to 300,000/= .

Cranes defender Denis Guma was not among the unveiled squad to complexities in his international transfer documentations.

Club President Engineer Ben Emmanuel Misagga was in attendance but he did not address the Villa faithfuls due to illness.

Bernard Muwanga will be the Club’s new Captain after the departure of Taddeo Lwanga and he will be deputised by Henry Katongole and Abel Eturude. Phillip Ssozi will also serve as the head coach for the U17s and academy.

The new recruits.

  • Abdullah Salim (Graduate from the U17s)
    Mukasa Musa (Signed from Express FC)
    Allan Kyambadde (Signed from Express FC)
    Mahad Yaya Kakooza (Signed from Express)
    Simon Sserunkuuma (Signed from Express)
    George Ssenkaaba (signed from Kirinya Jinja S. S)
    Nicholas Kasozi (Signed from Synergy FC)
    Isa Lumu ( City Yangon FC in Myanmar)
    Mike Majwega ( from Simba FC)
    Sanon Mulabi ( Former student at Agape )

The Old members of the squad.

Samson Kirya, Buddala Ramathan, Adriko John, Henry Katongole, Ibrahim Kiyemba, Farouk Musisi, Ambrose Kirya, Abel Etrude, Bernard Muwanga, Joseph Nsubuga, Abdul Malik Vitalis Tabu, Martin Kiiza, Alex Kitata, Alex Ssemuyaba, Godfrey Lwesibawa and Mudde Hassan.

SC Villa will be hosting their games at Masaka recreation grounds and they will open the season against SOANA FC on Tuesday 12th 2017.

%d bloggers like this: