Proline shock Vipers SC to seal a place in the semifinals


Vipers SC will have the name Ibrahim Bonyo inscripted in their minds after his extra time heroics dumped them out the Stanbic Uganda Cup.

Bonyo’s extra time header off a perfectly weighed cross from Hakim Kiwanuka saw big league side Proline FC eliminate last year’s finalists Vipers SC.

The match started with serious attacks from either sides and in the 23rd minute captain Noordin Bunjo put Proline in the lead after beating Ibrahim Tembo and ultimately Benjamin Ochan.

Dan Mzee Serunkuuma tried to unlock Proline’s compact defense but all his efforts were well Marshalled by the defense commanded by Mustafa Mujuzi.

Micheal Nam Ouma made his first change in the 44th minute introducing midfielder Moses Waiswa for Steven Mukwala who looked out of the game for the whole of the first stanza.

The change paid dividends with Waiswa providing a better cutting edge and in the 77th minute, captain Taddeo Lwanga levelled the matters.

The normal regulation time expired with the game tied at one-one.

The teams were called back for an extra 30 minutes and its in the second half of this period that Ibrahim Bonyo picked his moment to separate the two teams.

Proline’s head coach Shafiq has warned his team about what awaits them following this victory.

“We knew were playing a strong team but i told my players not to play under pressure I believe people have started to people have recognising what we are building.”

” Our next target is to come and win our next games in the league, it will come with pressure but it is a situation we will have put ourselves into”

he added.

Proline join Express, Kyetume FC and Bright Stars at the semi finals.

Proline XI
Hassan Matovu (GK), Ssaka Mpiima, Richard Ajuna, Ibrahim Sendi, Mustafa Mujuzi, Sam Kintu, Noordin Bunjo, Joseph Mandela, Bright Anukani, Ivan Bogere, Ibrahim Wammanah

Micheal Muhumuza, James Begesa, Ibrahim Bonyo, Arnold Sserunjogi, Emmanuel Asiku, Hakim Kiwanuka, Allan Gerald Egaku, Ismail Kabugu

Vipers XI

Derrick Ochan, Ibrahim Kiyemba, Aziz Kayondo, Ibrahim Tembo, Halid Lwaliwa, Tadeo Lwanga, Abraham Ndugwa, Innocent Wafula, Steven Mukwala, Tito Okello, Dan Sserunkuma

Mugolofa, Herbet Katongole, Karim, Brian Kalumba, Moses Waiswa, Rahmat Ssenfuka, Hamis Diego

%d bloggers like this: