Proline eliminate Kyetume on penalties to seal maiden Uganda Cup final


Vicent Kayizzi and Benon Tahomera failed to convert their spot kicks as Proline FC eliminated Kyetume FC 4-3 on penalties.

Proline FC came into the second leg carrying a slim 2-1 advantage from the first leg at Nakisunga grounds Mukono.

Cephas Kambugu Tazan put Jackson Mayanja’s side after calmly converting from six yards resulting from Ibrahim Wammanah’s punishment after handling the ball in the forbidden area.

In the 41st minute Proline FC made a forced substitution with Ibrahim Bonyo replacing the injured Sam Kintu Tiyo.

It was a blessing in disguise for Bisaso when Bonyo levelled matters in the 67th minute after connecting well with Bright Anukani’s cross.

Another veteran Patrick Ochan restored Kyetume’s lead in the 81st minute and ultimately put the aggregate score to level on 3-3.

The tie was later left to be decided by spot kicks to determine who proceeds further to the finals.

Musitafa Mujuzi, Joseph Mandela, Bright Anukani and Hakim Kiwanuka managed to convert their penalties for Proline with only James Begesa missing out.

Denis Lubowa, Cephas Kambugu and Robert Ssentongo converted for Kyetume while Tahomera and Kayizi missed out.

Proline FC will wait for the winner between Express FC and Bright Stars who are playing their return leg on Thursday 9th- May at Muteesa II Stadium Wankulukuku the first leg ended in a all one stalemate.

The final will be played on 25th- May at Masaka recreation grounds.

Proline XI

Hassan Matovu, James Begesa, Richard Ajuna, Noordin Bunjo, Ibrahim Sendi, Musitafa Mujuzi, Bright Anukani, Sam Kintu, Joseph Mandela, Ibrahim Wammanah, Ivan Bogere

Micheal Muhumuza, Asiku, Hakim Kiwanuka, Joshua Okiror, Ibrahim Bonyo, Ssaka Mpiima, Arnold Sserunjogi

Kyetume XI

Emmanuel Kalyowa ( GK), Phillip Ssempira, Musa Magulu, Benon Tahomera, Deo Isejja, Vicent Kayizzi, Cephas Kabugu, Robert Ssentongo, Steven Sande, Ngogo Mumbera, Patrick Ochan

Ismail Zziwa, Phillemon Lutaaya, Faisal Luchachimba, Elkanah Nkugwa, Owen Kasule, Godfrey Buni, Denis Lubowa

%d bloggers like this: