Police come from two goals down to draw with ten-man Villa


Juma Balinya was on the brace once again as Police FC rallied from two goals down to draw 2-2 with SC Villa at the StarTimes Stadium Lugogo.

Bashir Mutanda and youngster Charles Lwanga scored in each half for SC Villa before throwing away their two goal cushion.

Lwanga, a graduate from the FUFA Juniors League, headed the Jogoos into the lead from an Ashraf Mandela spadework a minute to the half hour mark.

Two minutes later, Lwanga turned from a hero to a villain as he was sent off following a harsh challenge on Paul Willa.

The center referee of the day, Shamirah Nabadda had at first given Lwanga a yellow card but later dished out a red card after having a talk with the fourth official Deogracious Opio.

The record champions held on their slender lead until Mutanda doubled the scores with a penalty kick a minute into the second half.

The penalty came as a result of a foul by Ibrahim Kibumba on Mutanda who thumped home his 10th goal of the season.

Hassan Kalega battles with SC Villa’s Pius Wangi  (Police FC media) 

The Cops got a lifeline through their talisman Balinya who beat the Villa defense to net his 8th goal of the term in the 51st minute.

Douglas Bamweyana brought on Amir Kakomo and Moses Kitabalwa for Albert Mugisa and Ibrahim Mugulusi in a bid to hold on to their lead.

Unfortunately, Balinya had different ideas as he levelled matters from a Kibumba cross with 8 minutes left on the clock.

Abdallah Mubiru’s men would have won it through substitute Derrick Kakooza whose header was denied by the woodwork with the Villa keeper already beaten.

The result takes SC Villa to the 12th place with 14 points while Police move to the 7th place with 21 points.

Police FC Line Up
Davis Mutebi (GK), Paul Willa, Sadat Kyambadde, Ibrahim Kibumba, Arafat Galiwango, Samuel Kayongo (Ashraf Mugume), Hassan Kalega, Ruben Kimera, Juma Balinya, Ronald Nyanzi (Derrick Kakooza), Johnson Odongo

Juma Balinya wheels off after scoring. He has scored 9 goals for Police this season

SC Villa Line Up
Yusuf Wasswa (GK), Ashraf Mandela, Moses Kiggundu, Derrick Ndahiro, Ibrahim Mugulusi (Moses Kitabalwa), Albert Mugisa (Amir Kakomo), Charles Lwanga, Lincoln Mukisa, David Owori, Bashir Mutanda, Pius Wangi

%d bloggers like this: