Onyango wins sixth PSL title as Sundowns are crowned champions


Denis Onyango’s Mamelodi Sundowns were crowned ABSA Premiership champions after a 1-0 victory over Free State Stars in their final game of the season at Goble Park in Bethlehem on Saturday.

The defeat saw Martin Kizza’s Free State Stars relegated to the National First Division after 12 years of topflight football. The result also ensured Allan Kateregga’s Maritzburg United survive the cut but will have to play a relegation play off.

Phakamani Mahlambi who came on as a substitute for injured Gaston Sirino scored the all important goal for the Brazilians with only three minutes to halftime sending the traveling fans into a bouncing frenzy.

Sundowns created the most opportunities in the game but Free State Stars also had moments and their best chance fell to Katlego Mokhuoane who forced Onyango into a save.

Sundowns held on to their lead that saw them finish with an unassailable 59 points and two above Orlando Pirates a side coached by former Cranes coach Milutin Sredjovic Micho.

This is the Brazilians ninth Premier Soccer league title and 12th topflight title since 1971.

Head coach Pitso Mosimane won his fourth title in five years at the club and joins Jeff Butler, Gordon Igesund, Ted Dumitru and Gavin Hunt as the other coaches to have achieved them same success. Mosimane also became the first coach in the PSL era to win four titles at one club.

Onyango alongside Sundowns skipper Hlompho Kekana joined former SuperSport United and Pirates winger Diane Plate as the only three players to have won the PSL 6 times.

For his heroic performances, Onyango will have a shout for the goalkeeper of the season during the glamorous PSL awards ceremony slated for Monday 13th May in Durban.

%d bloggers like this: