OFFICIAL : Number of teams in the Tanzania super league to increase 20 from 16.

Simba FC are the current leaders of the Tanzanian League 

By: Senoga Sinan Rajub 

It has been confirmed that with effect from the 2018/2019 season, the number of teams in the Tanzanian top flight league will increase from 16 to 20 teams. This has been among the changes unveiled by Tanzania Football Federation (TFF) and was addressed by the Federation Media and Communication Officer, Alfred Lucas.

Alfred Lucas affirmed

“The decision to increase the number of teams in the topflight league was reached by the federation Executive Committee that convened in Dar es Salaam on Tuesday. The committee has also made amendments in the First Division League Regulations, which is expected to kick off on September 16th, this year.”

The changes in the regulations imply two teams will be relegated from the Premier League this season and six teams from the First Division League will be subsequently promoted into the top flight football.

The First Division League is the 2nd tier and is sub-divided into three groups A,B and C and according to regulation, two top teams in each group will earn automatic promotion into the premier league.

The Tanzanian League is home to Ugandans Emmanuel Okwi and Murushid Juuko of Simba Sc , Defender Shafick Batambuze plays at Singida United and Coach Jackson Mayanja is employed in the same league.


%d bloggers like this: