Mutanda hits former team again as Mbarara city dents Vipers’ title defense

David GOMBE 

Mbarara City recovered from two goals down to beat Vipers SC 3-2 in a Uganda Premier League contest at the St.Mary’s Stadium in Kitende.

Vipers appeared to have won the topsy turvy contest before the Ankole Lions dramatic comeback in the second half.

Vipers lead 2-0 at the interval courtesy of Yunus Sentamu and Paul Mucureezi strikes.

A spirited and determined second half display saw the visitors return home with maximum points.

Goals from Solomon Okwalinga, former Vipers forward Bashir Mutanda and a late Jude Ssemugabi winner saw Mbarara City complete the unthinkable double over the Kitende outfit.

In form striker, Sentamu gave the host the lead in the 16th minute with his 16 goal of the campaign.

Ten minutes later, Mucureezi doubled their lead, netting his 11th of the season.

Center referee Mashood Ssali awarded Mbarara city a penalty in the 56th minute after Vipers defender Paul Willa handled the ball in the forbidden area. Okwalinga was entrusted with the responsibility and calmly inspired the comeback.

Second half substitute Mutanda who was making a return to Kitende sensationally leveled matters in the 63rd minute.

With the game seeming to be ending in a fifth stalemate between the two sides, Semugabi competed the emphatic comeback that sent the few traveling fans into a frenzy.

The visitors’ comeback crysallised what is a deep lying fault line in the rearguard.

For starters, Mbarara were the first team this term to beat Vipers.

Defeat sees, Vipers remain winless at home in four games now. Their last victory at home was the 4-0 win over Busoga United.

They also drop to third place with 53 points in 25 games two behind current leaders Express FC.

Mbarara who recorded their 8th win of the season are now 8th with 32 points from 25 games.

Vipers SC will next travel to Soltilo Bright Stars on Friday while Mbarara City hosts Police on the following day.

Vipers SC XI:

Fabien Mutombora (GK), Paul Willa, Rashid Toha, Aziz Kayondo, Ibrahim Orit, Musa Ssali, Paul Mucurezi, Allan Kayiwa, Najib Yiga, Yunus Ssentamu, Ceaser Manzoki.

Mbarara City FC XI:

Muhammad Ssekeba (GK), Stephen Othieno, Karim Ramathan, Ronald Otti, Ibrahim Magandazi, Zaidi Byekwaso, Jasper Aheebwa, Bebe Swalik, Solomon Okwalinga, Innocent Wafula, Jude Ssemugabi

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: