Connect with us

Mubarak Nsubuga wins it for Express in Ndejje


Mubarak Nsubuga wins it for Express in Ndejje


Express FC edged relegation fighting Ndejje University 1-0 at the Arena of visions in Luwero on Tuesday evening.

Youthful midfielder Mubarak Nsubuga scored the all important goal that propelled the Red Eagles to their 8th win of the season.

Nsubuga’s third goal of the season, came in the 77th minute after rebound a lose ball from Tony Odur’s effort off Ndejje’s goalkeeper Derrick Emukule.

George Ssemwogerere named Brian Umony as the club’s lead striker on the day but had to bring on Odur for Charles Musoke in a bid to surge the attacking intent five minutes into the second period.

Ndejje University through forwards Anwar Ntege, Francis Onekalit, Sam Matovu and Isaac Kisujju tried to breakthrough the Express defence but couldn’t beat the steady gloves of Mathias Muwanga.

Ntege had a glorious chance to steal the lead but his exquisite header was parried away by Muwanga for a corner kick in the 15th minute.

Nsubuga, the goal scorer also came closest to breaking the deadlock at the hour mark but his shot kissed the woodwork with Emukule already beaten.

Ssemwogerere also brought on Charles Lubega for the injured Arthur Kiggundu and Davis Mayanja for Ibrahim Kayiwa.

Raymond Timothy Komakech, the Ndejje University tactician brought on Bernard Katetemera, Steven Ategeka and Baden Mujahid for Ricardson Asaba, Sam Matovu and Francis Onekalit.

Express’ Lawrence Kigonya and Disan Galiwango were cautioned for unsporting behavior likewise Ndejje’s Onekalit.

Victory propels Express to the 8th position with 28 points while Ndejje University stay in the relegation zone (14th) with 16 points.

Express will face Vipers in their next league game on Friday 1st March at Kitende while Ndejje University will visit Bright Stars a day later.

Ndejje University XI
Derrick Emukule, George Akena, Hamim Semakula, Joseph Othieno, Ronald Odokonyero, Paul Ddumba, Sam Matovu, Richardson Asaba, Anwar Ntege, Francis Onekalit & Isaac Kisujju

Express FC XI
Mathias Muwanga, Charles Musoke, Arthur Kiggundu, Isaac Mutanga, John Revita, Mubarak Nsubuga, Ibrahim Kayiwa, Michael Birungi, Disan Galiwango, Brian Umony & Lawrence Kigonya

More in Football

To Top
%d bloggers like this: