Minister Sekabembe announces 2021 Masaza Cup final arrangements


Masaza Cup 2021

Third Place playoff

Mawokota Vs Bulemeezi – 12noon


Buddu Vs Buwekula – 3PM

Fees :

Ordinary tickets-20000
VIP – 50000

Venue – St.Mary Stadium, Kitende

Date : 5th March, 2022

The Minister for Youth, Sports and Recreation in the Buganda Kingdom Henry Sekabembe Kiberu has officially announced the arrangements for the final of the 17th edition of the Masaza Cup tournament.

The 2021 Masaza Cup final will be between Buddu and Buwekula and will take place on 5th, March at the St.Mary’s Stadium in Kitende.

His Majesty Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II will preside over the prestigious competition’s final.

Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II at one of the Masaza Cup finals that were held at Namboole

“On behalf of the Kingdom of Buganda, I am glad to announce the arrangements of the final game that will climax the 17th edition of the Masaza Cup.”

The final is open to the public and I invite all stakeholders to come in big numbers to support the teams.”

Sekabembe thanked the sponsors of the competition for the tremendous support

“We would like to thank our partners Airtel Uganda, FUFA Centenary Bank and UNAIDS for contributing to the growth of football in the Kingdom.”

The match theme continues to be “Men against AIDS to save the girl child.”

Buddu will be playing their fifth Masaza Cup final after edging two time champions Bulemeezi 3-1 on penalties in the semifinal. Their only Masaza Cup triumph was in 2016 against Gomba.

They finished as runners up during the 2020 edition, losing to eventual winners Gomba 3-1 in the final at Kitende.

Buwekula advanced to the final after eliminating three time competition winners Mawokota in 5-3 on penalties after a 1-1 normal time stalemate in semifinal.

Buwekula last contested in the Masaza Cup final during the 2012 edition, losing 1-0 to Bulemeezi.

Previous winners.

2020: Gomba
2019: Bulemeezi
2018: Ssingo
2017: Gomba
2016: Buddu
2015: Ssingo
2014: Gomba
2013: Mawokota
2012: Bulemeezi
2011: Buluuli
2010: Not Held
2009: Gomba
2008: Kyadondo
2007: Mawokota
2006: Kooki
2005: Mawokota
20004: Gomba

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: