Mike Mutebi names squad to face Rivers United.

( Image courtesy of KCCA media) 

By: Sinan Rajub Senoga 

With just days after beating Paidha Black Angels to win the Uganda Cup, KCCA FC tactician Mike Ray Mutebi has named an 18-man squad traveling to face Nigerian outfit Rivers United in fourth group game of the CAF Confederations Cup on Tuesday night.

KCCA FC leaves Uganda for Nigeria and will play against Rivers United on Tuesday June 20th at Liberation Stadium in Port Harcourt.

Mutebi has rang few changes in the squad that was in Arua on Saturday. Midfielder Isaac Kirabira has paved way for Ivan Ntege while sensational starlets Allan Okello and Julius Poloto who missed out on the Uganda Cup final because they were cup tied have also been considered.

When the two sides met a fortnight ago, KCCA emerged 2-1 victors with striker Derrick Nsibambi grabbing a brace while Bolaji Sakini scored for the Nigerians.

The last Ugandan club to visit Port Harcourt was Vipers in 2016 losing to 2 times African champions Enyimba 2-0 on February 12th to bow out of the prestigious competition on a 2-1 aggregate following a 1-0 win at Nakivubo.

However Rivers United come into this fixture after losing 1-0 to Lobi Stars in the Nigerian Premier League on Friday 16th June and lie 15th on a 20 team log fighting for survival despite being last season’s runners up behind champions Enugu Rangers.

Both FUS Rabat and KCCA are on 6 points each but the former has a superior goal difference of +3. KCCA FC lies second with -1 while 1991 African Champions Club Africain are 3rd on 3 points. Rivers United sits at the bottom on 3 points but with an inferior goal difference of -2 compared to Club Africain’s 0. FUS Rabat visit Club Africain in Tunisia on Wednesday night, a match that follows a 2-1 FUS Rabat win in Morocco two weeks ago.

KCCA full travelling squad: Benjamin Ochan (GK), Denis Okot, Timothy Awany, Paul Musamali, Bukenya Lawrence, Isaac Muleme, Vincent Kayizzi, Muzamir Mutyaba, Tom Masiko, Derrick Nsibambi, Geoffrey Sserunkuuma, Douglas Kisembo (GK), Habib Kavuma, Denis Rukundo, Paul Mucureezi, Ivan Ntege, Allan Okello, Julius Poloto


Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: