MASAZA CUP 2017: Our team of the tournament.

Gomba were crowned champions of the 2017 edition of the Masaza cup. 

By: David Gombe 

Masaza cup has made it self a huge repute of giving a number of up and coming players a competitive platform to exhibit their talents, so many national heroes have their history rooted here, the likes of Farouk Miya, Godfrey Walusimbi, Francis Olaki, Robert Ondongkara, Keziron Kizito, Brian Bweete, Frank Kalanda, Feni Ali, Emmanuel Okwi to mention but a few. Swift sports have followed the tournament from the onset and we have managed to compile what we think have been the stand out performers of this edition.

1: Kirabira Juma(Gomba)

The Gomba lions as they lined up for the final match 

A big future awaits this young man, his reflex actions, goal area command and acrobatic style of goal keeping makes him Unique, he is the man responsible for ousting defending Champions Buddu out the cup as he saved 2 penalties.

His performance in the final must have left so many premier league clubs licking their fingers to capture his signature. He out competed Were Derrick Ssingo and Mutumba Adadi of Buddu.

2 : Oyuka Brian(Gomba)

The veteran defender has really had a great tournament, his experience and leadership qualities have been so instrumental in leading Gomba to their 4th Championship .His counter attacking prowess has seen him contribute to 40% of Gomba’s goals in this year’s tournament.

3: Mugoya Henry (Ssingo)

The modest left footed defender has had a tournament to remember, many fans and Masaza football enthusiasts have always enjoyed his over laps and defending during the tournament. He played every minute for Ssingo this season. His big character saw him chose took the spot kicks at the quarterfinals against Bugerere.

4: Ssenyonga Wilberforce Magumba(Ssingo )

His defensive organization,calmness and game reading qualities have seen Ssingo reach the finals of the tournament. He was always there when everyone was beaten in Ssingo’s defense.

5: Satro Edward (Gomba)

Gomba captain fantastic commanded his team to Victory, he has got the physique and body build to threaten any striker, He is among the few defenders who managed to score a goal in this year’s tournament .He scored an equaliser against Ssingo at Kabulasoke PTC grounds.

6. Lubwama Joshua leeti (Gomba)

Ssingo lining up for the finals 

A typical defensive midfielder, he provided the perfect cover for his defenders and he is one reason Gomba have had the meanest defense this season, Leeti used his height very well to win all aerial balls that passed via his area.

7. Ssenyonga Mikidad (Buddu).

He scored against Busiro in fight for the third place playoffs of this year’s tournament at Namboole. His trickery skills and experience helped to Buddu eject Busiro, he has been Buddu’s most sure source of creativity.

8.Nicholas Kabonge (Gomba)

The midfielder of t he tournament by far, he bosses the game with swagg and composure, he has got a good range of passing, dictates play and he is endowed with that eye for the final pass, has really come of age to move a step out the Masaza cup. He scored Gomba’s decisive goal that sealed the title triumph.

9. Ssemakula Francis (Busiro)

Buddu became the 1st defending champions to get past the group stages since 2004

The organisers’ man of the tournament, he was the engine that drove Busiro to an unlikely place in the semifinals, what a player he will be in the near future.

10. Joseph Janjali (Gomba)

The former Buddu attacker was prised away by Gomba with theirain target of winning the shield, he returned all the faith entrusted in him with a whooping 8 goals sprouted allover the tournament, he was also joint top scorer alongside Steven Mukwala. He deserved to be the Man of the tournament.

11.Mukwala Steven (Ssingo)

His goals were key to help Ssingo reach the finals, the new Vipers signing was the first player in the tournament’s history to score 5 goals in a single match when he put 5 past minnows Busujju at Mityana Ssaza grounds, his goals drought out as the tournament reached the later stages but he makes the grade to our team.

Coach Dungu Simon 

Simon Dungu

Coach Dunga as he prefers to be called, he has built a team based on flair and tenacity, they pressed every opponent they faced by denying them possession, no team has managed to posses the ball better than the Gomba lions.

He is much credites for over turning the 1-0 deficit suffered at the hands of Buddu when they managed to visit masaka and forced the tie into spot kicks which they won to advance to the finals. He is the champion.

Honorable mentions:

Shafiq Bisaso (Ssingo)
Were Derrick (Ssingo)
Atendere Geriga (Buddu)
Sserubiri Ivan (Buddu)
Kalule Richard (Busiro)
Weraga Michael (Bulemeezi)
Mbaziira Shakidhu (Gomba)
Kalumba Brian (Mawokota)

Records set this year

  •          Gomba won the fourth trophy in Masaza cup history now ahead of Mawokota who are on 3 trophies in the history of the tournament.

  •         Shafiq Bisaso lost his first ever final , he had never lost a final in the tournament history, however he remains the most successful coach in the competition.

  •          This was also the first time that Simon Dungu of Gomba won his Masaza cup trophy as head coach though he has ever won it before in 2013 with Mawokota as assistant to Edward Golola.

  •           A group that comprised of Ssingo, Gomba,Busujju and Buwekula is the most successful group in Masaza cup history, the same group has also produced finalists on consecutive occasions since 2012.

  •         Gomba and Ssingo remain the only teams in Masaza cup to play two finals coming from the same group that is 2014 and 2017.

  •         Turu Muzamir became the first refeere not to show any cards in a Masaza cup final.

  •         Oyuka Brian has now won three Masaza cup championships as a player that is in 2014 with Gomba, 2015 Ssingo and 2017 again with Gomba. This makes him the so far the most successful player in the tournament.

  •        Gomba have now appeared in 8 finals of the tournament, winning four and losing the same number, this means they have won more finals and lost most finals than any other side.

  •         Buddu became the 1st defending champions to qualify for the knock out stages since 2004.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: