Maroons return to winning ways with a narrow 1-0 over BUL FC

Courtesy photo

By: Swaibu Luyombya

Maroons emerged 1-0 victors over BUL Fc at Luzira Prisons grounds to end their first round on a high.

The game started on a low temple with either side failing to cause threatening attacks to each others goal thus ending in a dull first half barren stalemate.

Before the end of the first 45 minutes BUL Fc made an early change with Richard Wandyaka paving way for Daniel Shabene.

Into the second half, Kefa Kisala made is second substitution with Pierre Kambale introduced on for Hamis Tibita.

Having boosted his attack BUL Fc nearly broke the deadlock in the 58 minute only to see James Otim missing from close range off a sensational Daniel Shabene Cross.

In the 62nd minute, Maroons made their first change of the game with Daniel Kitagenda coming on for Solomon Walusimbi.

Asaph Mwebaze’s tactical move paid off a minute later when BUL Fc goalkeeper Muhammad Didi failed to read well substitute Daniel Kitagenda’s quality cross and found unmarked William Kiibi who tapped in home to give the home the lead.

In the 65th minute, BUL Fc tactician Kefa Kisala made his final change with Patrick Asiku making way for Mike Ndera in order to spark off his attack.

In the closing stages Maroons also brought on Solomon Ewol and Abdallah Ssenyonga for Felix Okot and Pius Obuya respectively.

By the end of proceedings at Luzira Prisons grounds William Kiibi 63rd minute goal was enough to separate the two sides also inspiring his side to a second home league victory this season.
On the other side defeat today ends Kefa Kisala’s side three match winning streak.

A win today takes Asaph Mwebaze’s side who had drawn 6 of their previous games to sixth placed on 21 points whereas BUL FC stays in 9th place with 18 points.

Maroons XI

Ashadu Bugembe (GK), Julius Kizito,Ivan Wani, Okello Maxwell, Sylvester Okello, Felix Okot, Yahaya Luuti, Pius Obuya, Solomon Walusimbi, Sydney chika, William Kiibi


Eric Dhaira(GK), Solomon Ewol, Daniel Kitagenda, Abdallah Ssenyonga, Pius Akena, Batte Wasswa, Allan Anguyo

Bul Fc XI

Muhammad Didi (GK), Fred Agandu, Yusulf Mukisa, William Otongo, Abdul Mayanja, Hassan Musana, Patrick Sembuya, Hamis Tibita, James Otim, Richard Wandyaka, Patrick Asiku


Hannington Sebwanyuno (GK), Musa Walangalira, Mike Ndera, Daniel Shabene, Fred Kyambade, Martin Kivumbi, Jean Pierre Kambale

%d bloggers like this: