Kyambogo edge K.U to clinch maiden University Football League championship


Kyambogo University 2-2 Kampala University
(Kyambogo win 3-2 on penalties)

Kyambogo University clinched their first ever University football league championship after defeating 2-time holders Kampala University 3-2 in spot kicks following a 2-2 draw after extra time.

Kyambogo University came from a goal down to put the game in a 1-1 full-time stalemate before settling for a 2-2 draw after 120 minutes.

Steven Epau agonizingly scored in his own net to give Kampala University an early lead in the 10th minute. Emmanuel Mwesiga scored a brace for Kyambogo University to put them in the lead for the first time on the evening.

A few minutes to the end of the extra time, David Omirambe levelled the game for Kampala University to force a penalty shoot out.

On Friday 9th November St. Lawrence University thumped Bugema University 5-0 in the third place play offs.

Kyambogo University, coached by former SC Villa coach Deo Serwadda, moved away with a trophy, and cash prize of four million shillings ( 4 million).

The runners up, Kampala University under the tutelage of Vicent Tumusiime, took home three million Shillings (3millions).

St. Lawrence University who came third got a trophy and two million shillings (2 million).

Past winners
2018 – Kyambogo University
2017- Uganda Martys University
2016- Kampala University
2015- MUBS
2014- MUBS
2013- Kampala University
2012- Makerere University.

%d bloggers like this: