Kyaddondo unveils squad for Masaza cup 2017

By: Senoga Sinan Rajub

Kyaddondo Fc have unveiled their 22-man squad to be used in this year’s Airtel Masaza Cup. This comes 3 days after the official opening of the tournament in Buddu.
The 2008 champions will kick off this season with a home affair against Mawokota on Sunday 21st May at the Phillip Omondi Stadium Lugogo.

Ibrahim Lutalo has been named head coach and will be assisted by Mugenyi Roy while Kinene Yasin will skipper the team. The team will greatly rely on sensational midfielder Sulaiman Serwadda, Semwanga Edgar, Masagazi Frank, Sembuusi Abdul Razaq and Otim Eric.

Goalkeepers; Semakula George, Kigozi Joseph, Kakooza Allan
Squad players; Bukenya Frank, Lubinga Ibrahim, Kinene Yasin (Team Captain), Matovu Shafik, Kiberu Abbas, Serunjogi, Wamusi Bernard, Serwadda Sula, Kasule Owen, Katumba Shadafidin, Friday Nicholas, Otim Eric, Kitagenyi Henry, Sembuusi Abdul Razak, Masagazi Frank, Matovu Bashir, Kalibala Bruce Jasper, Semwanga Edgar

Team captain Kinene Yasin says, “We hope for a top finish this year. We have better facilities, better quality players and we have prepared better than last year. I think we are destined for the final.”
He added, “I argue fans our 12th player to rally behind us on sunday and throughout the season.”
Last year’s quarter finals saw Kyaddondo being eliminated by Gomba 7-1 on aggregate following a 5-1 at Kira TC ground and a 2-0 in kabulasoke

Kyaddondo is grouped in group B alongside 3 times holders Mawokota, Busiro, Butambala and surprise package Buvuma. Mawokota already lost 2-1 to Butambala while Buvuma recorded their first win since 2004 with a 2-1 scoreline against Busiro.

Kyaddondo gave rise to notable players such as Brian Umony, Alex Kakuba, Erisa Sekisambu, Isaac Muleme, Bernard Muwanga, Brian Bwete to mention but a few.
Apparently the team is under the patronage of outgoing Fufa vice president Dennis Mbidde and “Mulangira” Martin Jjuuko.


Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: