KCCA FC nominates 5 for the fans player of the year award

(Derrick Nsibambi and Geoffrey Sserunkuma are among the favourites for the gong)

By: Senoga Sinan Rajub

Uganda Premier League and Uganda Cup winners KCCA FC have nominated 5 players for the fans favourite player of the year in the club’s annual end of season awards. Geoffrey Serunkuma, Allan Okello, Benjamin Ochan, Muzamiru Mutyaba and Derrick Nsibambi have been shortlisted by the KCCA FC technical bench for the fans to vote and the winner will be announced on Saturday 24th June at the City Square.

Geoffrey Serunkuma

(Photo courtesy of KCCA FC media) 

The 34 year old striker scored against all the 15 league opponents bagging 21 league goals and has collectively netted 32 times for KCCA since joining in from Lweza FC. He scored in four consecutive CAF Champions League qualifying games against Primeiro de Agosto of Angola and African champions Mamelodi Sundowns (both at home and away). He also scored in 9 consecutive league games between February 7th and April 25th.

Derrick Nsibambi

(Photo courtesy of KCCA FC media) 

Christened “Fox in Box” the cunning striker has had a very impressive 2016-17 season scooping the Uganda Cup golden boot with 8 goals and scoring 7 times in the run to defend the league title. He has a tally of 19 season goals including 4 on continental level notably a brace against Nigerian side Rivers United on 3rd June and late winner against Al Masry at Lugogo.

Benjamin Ochan

Goalkeeper Ochan has also been an instrumental figure in KCCA FC’s campaign significantly saving Ahmed Mansour and Said ElSaid’s penalties and scoring the winner in a 4-3 shoot out victory against Egyptian club Al Masry in Ismailia to ensure progress to the lucrative group stages of CAF Confederation Cup. Ochan’s heroics in Egypt came a week after he assisted Derrick Nsibambi in the 4th minute of the 5 added minutes to tame the same opponents at Lugogo. He also kept 7 clean sheets in the league for the club.

Muzamiru Mutyaba

Mutyaba is part of the KCCA driving force and had an outstanding first round of the season only to be frustrated by an injury later in the season. He managed 5 goals from the midfield against Express, Police, Bul FC, Soana and decidedly a winner against Proline FC in a 3-2 victory. 3 of the five goals came in the first half of the season and also scored one goal in the Uganda Cup.

Allan Okello

The youngster had a remarkable debut season despite joining in the mid season. On his first league appearance for KCCA, he emerged as the center of attraction becoming the first player to score a hat trick in the 2016-17 season in a 7-0 riot against Onduparaka at Lugogo on 25th February.
Since then, Okello has featured in Mike Mutebi’s offensive midfield and has impressed even against continental giants Mamelodi Sundowns. However, he has missed a couple of games due to school engagements with Kibuli SS.

KCCA end of season awards were first held last year in July at Lugogo accompanied by a memorable trophy parade and Left back Joseph Ochaya won the most prestigious award, the Best player award also known as the Phillip Omondi award.

Besides the Phillip Omondi award, there are 6 other awards to be given out. These include Jackson Mayanja award, Tom Lwanga award, Jimmy Kirunda award, Fan’s Player of the Year, Fan of the Year, and the Fan’s Branch of the Year award.

Last year, Habib Kavuma won the Tom Lwanga award emerging as the most disciplined team player. The Jackson Mayanja award also dubbed as the Young Player of the year award was won by sensational midfielder Allan Okello who was the MVP of the Fufa Juniors League. Midfielder Muzamiru Mutyaba won the Jimmy Kirunda award also tagged as the Player’s footballer of the year award.

(Above is the procedure through which the fans can vote their player of choice.) 

%d bloggers like this: