Kagame Cup: CECAFA fines Express FC for misconduct

Express FC will play against Malawi's Nyasa Big Bullets in the final


The CECAFA disciplinary Committee has fined both Express FC and Zanzibar’s KMKM SC for unsporting behavior during the semi final encounter of the on-going CECAFA Kagame Cup in Tanzania.

On Monday, Express beat KMKM 2-1 at the Azam Complex, Chamazi courtesy of second half goals from Muzamir Mutyaba and Eric Kambale.

Both Express and KMKM have been fined US$3,000 each for refusing to fulfill the match countdown rule of warming up.

According to the disciplinary Committee, both teams delayed the kick off time and refused to leave the dressing rooms to warm up and more so refused to take advice of the CECAFA Competitions Director, Yusuf Mossi.

CECAFA Online says that the fines for the two teams were reached after assessing the situation guided by both the match commissioner and the referees reports and in reference to articles 9.4, 9.5 and 18 of the CECAFA regulations for club competitions.

Express FC head coach Wasswa Bbosa was warned after he verbally disrupted the referees at the end of the first half, while the team’s kits manager Ayubu Balyejusa has been suspended for the last match after he tried to attack the fourth official on his way to the dressing room.

Balyejusa has further been fined US$500 for the acts of indiscipline and confrontation towards referee and security officials.

The Committee chaired by Uganda’s Justus Mugisha also imposed four match suspensions for KMKM players Ishalka Said Mwinyi and Adam Ibrahim for any tournament in the CECAFA region and a fine of US$500 each after both players rushed and attacked the referees after the final whistle.

KMKM SC official Suleiman Mohammed who rushed into the pitch to additionally fuel the ongoing chaos was also suspended for their next playoff match and fined US$500.

Both teams can appeal and pay US$500 or the fine within 24 hours after the decision.

The development comes a day after FUFA pledged to give USD$1000 to each Express FC player and four officials if the UPL champions win the CECAFA Kagame Cup.

Justus Mugisha (CECAFA Photo)

The members who attended the committee meeting held at Tiffany Diamond Hotel in Dar es Salaam include; Justus Mugisha (Chairman), Yusuf Mossi (Director of Competition), Auka Gecheo (Executive Director), Leslie Liyunda, Ali Ahmed (Referees Assessor), Amir Hassan (Match Commissioner), Albino Majok (Security Officer), Baraka Kizuguto (General Coordinator) and Sumaya Hood (Secretary).

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: