James Otim scores an incredible volley to send the Jinja derby in stalemate

By: Danito Nsubuga

James Otim scored an 83rd minute incredible volley to send the Jinja derby in a draw.

Kirinya Jinja SS went in front as early as the 13th minute courtesy of another beauty by Faisal Muwawu.

BUL FC were almost handed an equaliser 20 minutes later but Yunus Sibira failed to tap in with Muhammad Didi struggling on the ground.

Faisal Muwawu put Kirinya in front on 13 minutes

Kirinya’s goal scorer Muwawu did not last long on the field after suffering a minor knock and he was withdrawn for Anthony Mayanja in the 51st minute.

Yunus Sibira was again at the end of another goal scoring opportunity for BUL but his thunderbolt hit the cross bar.

With 25 minutes to play, Charles Ayiekho withdrew Bashir Mutanda for Joram Kirya and BUL Tactician David Kiwanuka reacted with a double substitution by introducing Patrick Asiku and Diego Hamis for Pierre Kambare and Hamis Tibita respectively.

Charles Ayiekho joins his team in celebration of Muwawu’s goal

BUL’s tireless efforts were repaid in the 83rd minute when James Otim corrected a poorly cleared ball from the corner kick to volley home a fine cracker to level matters.

The point earned sees Kirinya overtake Onduparaka to 4th courtesy of their superior goal scored record. Both are now on 38 points and a goal difference of 4 but Kirinya has scored 4 goals more.

BUL have also consolidated 9th spot, level on points (30) with 8th placed URA FC

Bul XI vs Kirinya Jss

Atieke Geofrey (GK), Umar Mukobe, Yusulf Mukisa, Abdul Mayanja, Fred Agandu, Yunus Sibira, Hamis Tibita, Daniel Shabene, Richard Wandyaka, Pierre Kambale, Douglas Owori


Paul Mujampani (GK), Musa Walangalira, Hakim Magombe, Patrick Sembuya, James Otim Patrick Asiku, Hamis Diego

Kirinya Jss XI vs Bul

Muhammad Didi (GK), Allan Drajua, Isma Kawawulo, Willy Makuro, Sabir Nesta, Godfrey Akol, George Kasonko, Bashir Mutanda, Fred Amaku, Musa Esenu, Faizal Muwawu


Emmanuel Rubankene (GK), Ebode Bertrand, Makon Landry, Isaac Ntege, Joram Kirya, Anthony Mayanja, Joel Madondo

%d bloggers like this: