INT. FRIENDLY : Uganda and Malawi play to a barren draw at Namboole

Uganda Cranes XI

By: Sinan Rajub Senoga 

After cruising past Sao Tome and Principe with a 3-1 comfortable victory, Sebastien Desabre the Cranes coach got a reality check as Uganda faced off with Malawi in a 0-0 draw at Namboole.

The Flames of Malawi proved a better side on the evening with dominance in ball possession and posed an enormous challenge for Sebastien Desabre in line with assessment of his players.

Goalkeeper and captain Dennis Onyango came to Cranes rescue with two point blank saves to deny Malawi a breakthrough in the second half of the game.

Substitute Derrick Nsibambi came close to finding the winner for Cranes when he rose higher than anticipated to misdirect an well delivered cross from Joseph Ochaya inside the 10 minutes of the game.

In the 55th minute, Desabre made his first chance of the game, Abraham Ndugwa came on for Milton Karisa.

Joseph Ochaya featured on the left wing

9 minutes later, Desabre made a double substitution bringing on William Luwaga Kizito and Derrick Nsibambi for Emmanuel Okwi and Yunus Sentamu to surge the offensive department.

Nicolas Wadada also replaced Dennis Iguma with only six minutes left on the clock.

Zambian based striker Fahad Bayo was Cranes final change when he came on for Joseph Ochaya in the 4th minute of the seven added added minutes.

Uganda’s midfielder Tadeo Lwanga and Malawi’s John Banda were booked for foul play in the 30th and 69th minutes respectively.

Malawi Flames XI

Desabre will now turn focus on the upcoming 2019 AFCON Qualifiers against neighbours Tanzania and Lesotho slated for mid way this year.

Uganda XI:
Dennis Onyango (GK), Dennis Iguma, Godfrey Walusimbi, Bevis Mugabi, Murushid Jjuuko, Tadeo Lwanga, Hassan Wasswa Mawanda, Milton Karisa (52’ Abraham Ndugwa), Emmanuel Okwi (60’ Kizito Luwagga), Yunus Sentamu (62’ Derrick Nsibambi), Joseph Ochaya (94’ Fahad Bayo)

Unused subs :
Jamal Salim (GK), Charles Lukwago, Isaac Isinde, Dennis Awany, Alex Kakuba, Geoffrey Baba Kizito, Hood Kaweesa

Malawi XI:
Charles Swini (GK), Precious Sambani, Denis Chembezi, Limbikani Mzava, Gombezeani Chirwa, John Banda, Rafik Namwera (46’ Frank Banda), Chawanangwa Kaonga, Dalisto Sailesi (71’ Patrick Phiri), Roben Nealande, Richard Mbulu (46’ Cheiukepo Musowoya)

Unused subs:
Brighton Muntari, John Lanjesi, Stanley Sanodi, Yamikani Fodya, Alfred Manyozo, Felix Zulu, Righteous Banda

%d bloggers like this: