Groups of the 2018 University League revealed

UFL action between Kampala University and Nkumba University. (courtesy photo)

By: David GombeĀ 

The 2018 University League group stages have been revealed today Monday 26th March 2018.

Holders Uganda Martyrs University Nkozi (UMU) have been drawn in Group D alongside Kampala International University, IUIU and Bishop Stuart University.

Giants Nkumba University and Kampala University have been drawn in the same group and will tussel it out with Busitema University and St. Lawrence University in Group B.

Last year’s runners up Makerere University School of Business (MUBS) are grouped Group C alongside Kyambogo University, YMCA and Mbarara University of Sciences and Technologies (MUST).

This year’s edition sees Pepsi join Nile Breweries in sponsoring the tournament which is slated to kick start on Wednesday 28th March 2018.

The University League has brought to light a host of talents such as Mathias Kigonya, Abel Eturude, Musa Esenu, Viane Sekajugo, Yasser Mugerwa, Douglas Owori, Hannington Ssebwalunyo Mathew Odongo, Shafik Kagimu, Ismail Kawawulo, Yubu Bogere, Sam Galiwango among others.

Shafiq Bisaso’s Uganda Martyrs University Nkozi (UMU) won last year’s title after edging Charles Ayiekoh’s MUBS 1-0 at Namboole.

Full Groups
Group A
Gulu University, UCU, Kumi University, Bugema University

Group B
Nkumba University, Kampala University, Busitema University, St. Lawrence University

Group C
MUBS, Kyambogo University, MUST, YMCA

Group D
Uganda Martyrs University, Kampala International University, IUIU, Bishop Stuart University

%d bloggers like this: