Gomba are 2017 Airtel Masaza cup champions.

Gomba emerged Champions after defeating Ssingo in a closely contested final 

By: David Gombe 

There was always going to be one winner in the final with Gomba taking on 2015 champions Ssingo at Mandela national stadium Namboole on Saturday 26,August, 2017.

Ssingo started on the front foot looking to reclaim their 2015 crown making various attacks and in the 22nd minute Jude Ssemugabi’s shot went wide to keep the score goalless.

Simon Ddungu’s men however started slowly to take control of the game with Nicholas Kabonge, Mbazira Shakidu dominating the midfield. Gomba’s  dominance continued and in the 37th minute, Joseph Janjali released Kigozi Andrew with only the keeper to beat but shot wide.

The Kabaka of Buganda Ronald Muwenda Mutebi graced the final.

With 3 minutes to half time Ssingo’s overlapping left back Mugoya Henry’s cross found Ssemugabi Jude whose shot was saved by Gomba’s goalie Kirabira Juma,and the game ended goalless in the opening 45 minutes.

Simon Ddungu’s men of Gomba who had the guile to puncture Ssingo came back strong in the second half. In the 56th minute Gomba made the first substitution with Amos Muwonge coming on for Kigozi Andrew.

The deadlock was finally broken through Nicholas Kabonge’s powerful shot in the 58th minute past goalkeeper Were Derrick.
Ssingo tactician Shafiq Bisaso introduced on Mugume Brian for Saaka Yusuf in the 62nd minute. Ssingo started to cause some threat to the Gomba defence but captain Satro Edward was a rock in defence.

In the 68th minute Ssingo made the second substitution with Lubega Brian coming in for talisman Mukwala Steven. Mugume Brian was also substituted due to injury with 10 minutes to full time for Kisitu Nvule Jamil.

Gomba’s suffocating pressing game couldn’t allow Ssingo find the spaces to cause any damage. With six minutes to time Ssingo’s Otto Isaac had his powerful header tipped off the bar by goalie Kirabira Juma and moments later Lubega Brian missed a clear scoring opportunity denying Ssingo the equalizer.

The Ssingo xi that started the final 

By the end of the 90 minutes, Nicholas Kabonge’s goal was enough to lead Gomba to a fourth Masaza cup triumph at Uganda’s football cathedral Namboole.
The triumph also makes them the most successful team in the tournament on four trophies that is champions in 2004,2009,2014 and 2017 with Mawokota second on three.


This is the first time Shafiq Bisaso has lost a Masaza cup final having won it in 2009,2014 and 2015. Ssingo who were making their fourth final in five years have now lost three and only won once.

The Gomba lions team that started the finals at Mandela National stadium 

Simon Ddungu of Gomba has won his first Masaza cup title as head coach though he has ever won it with Mawokota in 2013 as assistant to Edward Golola. Ssingo who have been this year’s runners up have walked home with a cheque of 7 million while Champions Gomba have bagged 10 million.

Busiro’s Ssemakula Frank was  voted  the tournament most valuable player, Kirabira Juma of Gomba was best goalkeeper.
Joseph Janjali and Mukwala Steven of Gomba and Ssingo respectively have been joint top scorers with 8 goals.

Team sheets

Kirabira Juma, Oyuka Brian, Ssegonja Ponsiano, Ssentongo Abudallah, Satro Edward, Mbazira Shakidu, Joshua Lubwama, Nicholas Kabonge, Allan Sserunga, Kigozi Andrew, Joseph Janjali

Yiga Joseph, Huzaifa Musa, Muwonge Amos, Mumbere Razaka, Lutakome Alex, Luboyera Hassan Ali, Sserugo Adrian

Ssingo X1

Were Derrick, Kaviiri Isaac, Mugoya Henry, Kalevu Sinaya, Ssenyonga Wilberforce, Adriko Rodgers, Ssemugabi Jude, Otto Isaac, Mukwala Steven, Saaka Yusuf

Lukyamuzi Kenneth, Muteesa Jonathan, Orom Henry, Obbo Vittas, Lubega Brian, Kisitu Nvule Jamil

 Masaza cup winners over the years

2010—–Not held

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: