FUFA proposes UPL transition from 16 clubs to 12


The Uganda Premier League is destined to have 12 clubs from the usual 16 with effect from the start of the 2021/22 season.

The proposal was made by the Fufa Executive Meeting held at the Fufa House in Mengo on Friday 13th March.

According to Fufa via their website, the reforms are meant to enhance the quality of Clubs, increase Sporting Competition, improve Service delivery by Organizers, create better Club and League Brands, increase revenues for both the clubs and the league among others.

The Uganda Premier League transition will see six clubs relegated at the end the 2020/21 season and only two promoted from the Big League at the start of the 2021/22 season.

The 2021/22 season would also see the league played over three legs like it is the case in the current Fufa Juniors League and the Fufa Women Super League.

Each of the 12 clubs will be required to have a U-20 team that will compete in the inaugural reserve league.

The Fufa Juniors League will then be based on regional level and would be played in the respective eight Fufa regions.

The Fufa Big League will also be transiting from 18 clubs to 16.

The First Division, Second Division, the UPL U20 Reserve Leagues are to be under the Professional League Board and Professional League Secretariat replacing the current UPL Board and UPL Secretariat respectively.

FUFA however invites ideas from stakeholders or from anyone “To Whom It May Concern” via rules@fufa.co.ug on the aforementioned proposals.

%d bloggers like this: