FUFA Drum: Ssekajugo’s early strike inspires Buganda past Lango


Last year’s MVP Vianne Ssekajugo was the difference in an opener as Buganda Province defeated Lango Province at Mukono Bishops Grounds.

Ssekajugo’s 6th minute strike past Franco Olinga was enough to seal maximum points for the defending Champions.

He had an opportunity to double the lead 5 minutes later with goalkeeper to beat only his efforts to go over the bar.

Joachim Ojera, Allan Okello, Dickens Okwir and Petit Wanok tried their best for a leveller only for Mutakubwa to stand tall to the challenge.

Mutakubwa was named man of the match by the end of the day.

Head coach Alex Isabirye applauded his team for following his tactics and urged them not to get carried away.

” We lost to this side 3-1 last season so this gave us a challenge of preparing more for this encounter, my players played under instructions and I believe it is a reason we managed the maximum points.”

Isabirye insists they are not after the trophy but collecting maximum points in every game they are to play,

” Right now I will not say we are after winning the trophy again our primary target is collecting maximum points in every game we play.”

” And if we win every game that we play oviously we are to win it again but once we fail it will be the other way.”

Both sides will be back in action on 13th April as Buganda will be visiting Sebei Lango will be hosting Ankole.

Action resumes tommorow with 7 fixtures

Buganda XI

Joel Mutakubwa, Douglas Muganga, Dan Birikwalira, Najib Tusaba, Enock Walusimbi, Saidi Kyeyune, Allan Kayiwa, Ruhamaatah Kagimu Robert Sentongo, Shafik Kagimu, Vianne Ssekajugo.

Hannington Ssebwalunyo, Musa Magulu, Frank Senabulya, Bashir Mutanda, Baker Buyala, Denis Lubowa, Solomon Walusimbi, Brian Majwega, Ezra Kaye

Lango XI

Franco Olinga, Odur Emmanuel, Ivan Okello, Timothy Awany, Emmanuel Obua, Herbert Achai, Farouk Osama, Allan Okello, Dickens Okwir, Petit Wanock, Joachim Ojera

Emmanuel Odongo, Bronson Nsubuga, Emmy Ekol, Denish Omedi, Ronnie Ekulu, Walter Egang, John Paul Achire, Moses Aliro

Sunday Fixtures
Busoga Vs Tooro- Kyabazinga Stadium Bugembe.
Bukedi Vs Teso- Butaleja
Bugisu Vs Kigezi – Mbale
Ankole Vs Sebei- Kyamate play ground
Acholi Vs Karamoja- Pece Stadium Gulu
West Nile Vs Bunyoro- Bar Okoro Stadium Zombo
Kampala Vs Rwenzori- Luzira Prisons Grounds


%d bloggers like this: