FUFA DRUM: Busoga set off with a convincing 3-0 victory over Bugisu

Busoga players celebrate one of their goals (Photo courtesy of FUFA)

By: Kayondo Erias


The first edition of the FUFA-Drum tournament was kicked off today 24th, Feb,2018 with Busoga province taking on Bugisu in the opening fixture of the tournament.

The game started amidst cheers and support from supporters of both provinces.Both teams looked strong enough and well determined to go past the other.

However, with only 13 minutes played Hamisi Tibita scored the first goal of the tournament with a simple tap in when Aggrey Madoi the ball from the left wing to send the home fans into an early celebration.

After that goal moment, there was argubly no more visible goal scoring opportunities created on either side in the first half and with a one goal difference between the two sides, the game went into recess.

Later after only 18 minutes of play into the second half, substitute Richard Wandyaka scored one to his name. Bugisu was yet again punished for poor defending when Aggrey Madoi ran through their defence to beat an offside trap and set an assist for Wandyaka to shoot passed a low lying James Alitho.

Another substitute Joel Madondo added salt to Bugisu’s wounds when he scored a wonderful header 15 minutes later to seal victory for the hosts.

The tournament will be played on a home and away basis and Busoga will also have to visit Bugisu in Mbale in the return match.

Busoga province XI

Muhammad Didi (GK), Jimmy Kulaba, Allan Munaaba, Livingstone Mulondo, Isaac Isinde, Jeromy Kirya, David Bagole, Daniel Shabene, Patrick Crespo Asiku, Hamisi Tabita, Aggrey Madoi.


Mathias Muwanga (GK), Wilson Makuro, Joel Madondo, Mark Bamukyaye, Richard Wandyaka, George Kasonko, Anthony Mayanja, Ivan Waibi, Braise Nkolo

Bugisu province XI

James Alitho (GK), Edmond Robert Otim, Tiff Kahandi, Hassan Wandega, Jackson Okello, Musa Malunda, Ibrahim Masa, Milton Kariisa, Akram Munyolo, Sula Wambedde, Abdul Rahman Ajab.


Bashir Ibrahim (GK), Peter Lomilo, Erasmas Okadapay, Robert Kabole, Derrick Dangohur, Aziz Nambobi, Phillip Wamukota, Constantino Nalumoso, Malvin Wasswa.

%d bloggers like this: