FUFA Awards : Mutebi headlines coach of the year award shortlist


KCCA FC’s head coach Mike Mutebi will once again vie for the coach of the year accolade in the forthcoming 2018 FUFA awards.

Mutebi was nominated alongside four other coaches as shortlists for more categories of the 2018 FUFA awards were revealed today morning at the FUFA house in Mengo.

The KCCA tactician who won the same award last year will compete with Ndejje University’s Raymond Timothy Komakech, Alex Isabirye, Kawempe Muslim’s Ayub Khalifa and Portuguese born Jorge Miguel Da Costa who has since moved on from Vipers SC.

Mutebi guided KCCA to their 10th Uganda Cup triumph and a berth in the group stages of the CAF Champions League last season.

Jorge Miguel Da Costa helped Vipers SC clinch their third ever league title as well as finishing runners up in the domestic cup.

Ayub Khalifa guided Kawempe Muslim to a fourth straight FUFA Women Elite League championship after overcoming Olila High School WFC in the finals at Lugogo.

Alex Isabirye is the man who navigated Buganda Province to win the first ever edition of the FUFA Drum while Raymond Timothy Komakech helped Ndejje University gain promotion from the FUFA Big League last season.

In other categories announced on the day, Fred Amaku of Kirinya JSS, Vipers and Kobs defender Geoffrey Wasswa together with KCCA’s high-flying left full will tussle it out for the FUFA promising player of the year award.

The FUFA upcoming player of the year award will either go to KCCA’s lethal striker Sadat Anaku, Bright Stars’ Thomas Kakaire or Onduparaka’s Idd Abdul Wahid.

Other categories include Referee of the year, upcoming referee of the year, beach soccer player of the year among others.

The overall winners of the respective awards will be announced on the FUFA Awards ceremony at the Speke Resort Hotel in Munyonyo on the 7th on December.

Full List of Nominees and Categories:

• Male Player of the year:
Allan Okello (KCCA FC)
Vianne Ssekajugo (Onduparaka FC)
Moses Waiswa (Vipers SC)

• Female Player of the year :
Shadia Nankya (Uganda Martyrs High School)
Ruth Aturo (UCU Lady Cardinals)
Tracy Jones Akiror (Kawempe Muslim)

• FUFA Upcoming Talent (FUFA Juniors League)
Sadat Anaku (KCCA Soccer Academy)
Thomas Kakaire (Bright Stars Junior Team)
Idd AbduWahid (Onduparaka FC Junior team)

• FUFA Most Promising Player (from the local league and under the age of 23)
Mustafa Kizza (KCCA FC)
Geoffrey Wasswa (Vipers SC)
Fred Amaku (Kirinya JSS)

• FUFA Coach of the year
Mike Mutebi (KCCA FC)
Ayub Khalifa (Kawempe Muslim)
Miguel Da Costa (Formerly at Vipers SC)
Alex Isabirye (Kyetume FC)
Raymond Timothy Komakech (Ndejje University FC)

• FUFA Best XI

• FUFA Presidential Award

• FUFA Fair Play Award

• FUFA Individual Fair Play Award

• FUFA Referee of the year
Mark Ssonko
Brian Miiro Nsubuga
Shamirah Nabadda
Alex Muhabi
Mashood Ssali

• Upcoming Referee of the year (From FUFA Juniors League)
Herbert Bwiire
Haula Namukobe
Bill Kitibwa
Shamirah Nabukenya
Zamuyati Kawala

• Beach Soccer Player of the year
Meddie Kibirige (Isabet)
Isaac Eshioke (KIU)
Suleiman Ochero (St. Lawrence University)

• Fans’ Favorite Ugandan Player of the year

• Fans Favorite Ugandan Player (Foreign Based)

• Fan of the year

%d bloggers like this: