FUFA AWARDS 2018: Waiswa, Aturo scoop MVP gongs


The 2018 Airtel FUFA Awards climaxed with Moses Waiswa and Ruth Aturo winning the Male and Female player of the year awards on Friday 7th at Munyonyo.

Waiswa beat KCCA’s Allan Okello and Viane Sekajugo of Onduparaka while Aturo achieved the coveted feat at the expense of Tracy Jones Akiror and defender Shadia Nankya.

The two players walked away with a brand new car each and fuel worthy 500,000 Uganda Shillings (Five hundred thousand Uganda shillings.)

In the other winners on the night, KCCA’s tactician Mike Ray Mutebi won the Coach of the year award for the third time running.

Mustafa Kizza scooped the FUFA promising player of the year award while his teammate Okello was voted the Fans’ favourite locally based player.

Denis Masinde Onyango won the Fans’ Favourite foreign based player award.

Ndejje University’s Noel Nasasira walked away with the FUFA Big League Player of the year while youngster Iddi Abdul Wahid won the FUFA juniors league player of the year.

Meddie Kibirige of Isabet Beach soccer club was named the beach soccer player of the year.

Vipers SC’s proprietor Dr. Lawrence Mulindwa was given the FUFA Presidential award in recognition of his efforts towards football development.

Maroons football club won the fair play award while Brian Miiro Nsubuga was named referee of the year once again.

Khassim Kyazze walked away with the fan of the year award. Kyazze is the KCCA FC and Uganda Cranes diehard known for painting himself.

Full list of winners on the night

• Male Player of the year – Moses Waiswa (Vipers SC)

• Female player of the year – Ruth Aturo (UCU Lady Cardinals)

• FUFA Big League player of the year -Noel Nasasira (Ndejje University)

• FUFA Most promising player of the year – Mustafa Kizza (KCCA FC)

Samson Kirya (GK), Paul Willa, Mustafa Kizza, Henry Katongole, Timothy Awany, Nicolas Kasozi, Vianne Sekajugo, Moses Waiswa, Dan Serunkuma, Allan Okello, Nelson Senkatuka

• FUFA Coach of the year – Mike Ray Mutebi (KCCA FC)

• FUFA Referee of the year – Brian Miiro Nsubuga

• FUFA Fair play award – Maroons FC

• Fans’ favorite local based player of the year- Allan Okello (KCCA FC)

• Fans’ favorite foreign based player of the year – Denis Masinde Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, RSA)

• FUFA Juniors League player of the year – Iddi Abdul Wahid (Onduparaka Junior Team)

• FUFA Presidential Award – Dr. Lawrence Mulindwa

• Upcoming Referee of the year – Shamirah Nabukenya

• Beach Soccer player of the year – Meddie Kibirige (Isabet Beach soccer club)

%d bloggers like this: