FIBA Africa Zone V ready and steady

By: Nacho Black Armo

After a strong, great performance that yielded no positive results for Uganda in the Afro Basketball, Ugandans will have to turn their attention to another competitive club Basketball affair.

City Oilers host the FIBA Africa zone V Basketball championships from 1st to 7th of October 2017 at Lugogo indoor stadium ( MTN Arena). Oilers who won this championship in Tanzania 2016 will be looking at nothing less than defending their title.

Teams from Ethiopia, Egypt, Burundi, Kenya,Tanzania, Somalia and Rwanda in both Men and Women categories will very much be a part of this. City Oilers and Betway Power will represent Uganda in men’s category, while Kcca Leopards and UCU will hold the Ugandan flag in women’s category.

Oilers emerged winners of the 2016 edition of the FIBA Africa zone V championships having finished as runners up in Rwanda the previous year in the same competition.

While Uganda’s City Oilers will be defending the men’s category which they won defeating Kenya’s Ulinzi, 72- 49. Kenya’s KPA won in the women’s category topping the table after defeating Uganda’s Kcca Leopards in a humiliating 72-27 results for Kcca Leopards.

Uganda has hosted this championship thrice, 2009, 2001, and 2013. In 2009 Uganda’s Kyambogo Warriors ( now Pemba Warriors) lost in the in the finals, in 2001 Falcons ( now StarTimes Falcon) under John Ssimbwa won it, while Demark Power (now Betway Power) was eliminated at semi final stage in 2013. Hence making Falcons and Oilers the only Ugandan teams to win regional tournaments and Falcons being the only Ugandan team to win it hosting it.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: