Express’ intentions to leave relegation zone buried in a 0-0 draw against Proline.


File photo : Express line up against BUL FC

By: Sinan Rajub Senoga 

Express missed a chance to move from the bottom of the AUPL table as they played to a goalless draw with fellow strugglers Proline at Wankulukuku. The draw also put a halt to Proline’s five match losing streak.

Joseph Semujju had the best scoring chance for Shafiq Bisaso’s men when he faced one on one with Proline’s goalkeeper Saidi Keni but his shot was denied by the woodwork with a minute to half time.

Nigerian import Ewuchie Dichimma was Proline’s culprit for missing two clear cut chances, one coming early in the 19th minute and the other in the 46th minute. He misdirected the ball over the bar on the two occasions even when Tony Kyamera was already.

10 minutes into the second half, Shafiq Bisaso withdrew Joseph Semujju replacing him with Mike Birungi to add more firepower in the final third but the visitors’ defense seemed impenetrable.

Zimula Jalilu and Isaac Kisujju Onyango were also brought for Juma Sebadduka and Mubarak Nsubuga in order to surge the attack but in vain.

Heading into the final quarter of the game, Steven Luswata came close to finding a breakthrough when his effort beat a fast approaching Saidi Keni but was denied by Sakka Mpiima on its way past the goal line.

Mujib Kasule also made changes bringing on Iyesele Odili for Allan Egaku, Daniel Isiagi for Sula Matovu and finally Simon Mbaziira for the injured Sam Kintu.

Express’ Davis Mayanja and Ayub Kisalita were booked for foul play. Sula Matovu, Sam Kintu and Mujuzi Mustafa were also cautioned for Proline.

The draw leaves Express bottom placed with 16 points garnered from 19 games whereas Proline remains one spot hovering above the drop zone with 18 points.

Next on card, Express will visit Police at Namboole on 10th March while Proline will play host to BUL FC at Lugogo Friday 9th March.

Express XI

Tonny Kyamera, Ayub Kisalita, Sulaiman Jingo, Shafik Kakeeto, Julius Ntambi, Steven Luswata, Mubarak Nsubuga, Davis Mayanja, Alfred Leku, Juma Ssebaduka, Joseph Ssemujju.

Godwin Buule, Omar Hitimana, Sharif Mohammad, Michael Birungi, Isaac Kisuju, Ronnie Kisekka, Jalilu Zzimula.

Proline XI
Keni Saidi, Saka Mpiima, Mustapha Mujuzi, Savio Kabugo, Ivan Bukenya, Sam Kintu, David Owori, Joseph Mandela, Allan Egaku, Dichimma Ewuchie, Sula Matovu.

Nasser Lwamunda, Iyasele Odili, Simon Mbaziira, Musa Kundi, Ronald Musana, Richard Luyima, Daniel Isiagi.

%d bloggers like this: