Express FC cruise past hapless Cops


Police FC 1-3 Express

Express got off the mark with a 3-1 win over a hapless Police FC side at Lugogo thanks to goals from Tony Odur, Ibrahim Kayiwa and Mike Birungi.


Both sides hadn’t won a game since the start of the season but Express looked a better side to clinch maximum points.

Tony Odur put the visitors in the lead with a calm finish from a Julius Ntambi perfect cross as early as the 8th minute.

Asuman Galiwango almost leveled matters from a goal mouth scramble but his left footed effort went inches above the cross bar.

Odur exquisitely fed an onrushing Ibrahim Kayiwa who flawlessly slotted in Express’ second 4 minutes past the half hour mark.

Abdallah Mubiru retaliated with a first half substitution bringing on Johnson Odong for a more combative and pacy Ruben Kimera.


5 minutes into the second half, the mounting pressure from the Cops paid off when Arthur Kiggundu erroneously deflected a Ruben Kimera weak effort into his own net.

Mubiru brought on Ronald Nyanzi and Hassan Kalega to surge his team’s intent for a leveler as Express sat on the back foot.

Ruben Kimera almost found the precious goal only to be denied by a well stretched Muwanga with barely 3 minutes to normal time.

Kalega was at fault for losing possession in the proximity of his goal and Mike Birungi was the subsequent recipient of a well laid pass from Charles Mutima before rounding the keeper to launch a cool effort into an empty net.

Mutima who came on for Mubarak Nsubuga, was one of the two Express substitutes on the evening. Nasir Mbabali being the other.

Tony Odur, Michael Birungi, Davis Mayanja, Pius Mbidde were all booked while Tayimour Kimera was the only Police FC cautioned player.

The result leaves Abdallah Mubiru under immense pressure after losing a third consecutive league game.

Mubiru and his troops will try to make amends when they take on Ndejje University in their next league fixture on Wednesday next week.

Express goes to 4 points and will host BUL FC in their next game on Tuesday 23rd at Wankulukuku.

Police FC XI
Davies Mutebi, Paul Willa, Ibrahim Kibumba, Tayimour Kimera, Ashraf Galiwango, Pius Kaggwa, Johnson Odong, Norman Ogik, Sam Kayongo, Shakur Makeera, Ashraf Mugume

Denis Bigala, Joseph Sentume, Hassan Kalega, Ronald Nyanzi, Reuben Kimera, Safi Basani, Sadat Kyambadde

Express FC XI
Mathias Muwanga, Julius Ntambi, Arthur Kiggundu, Disan Galiwango, Shafik Nana Kakeeto, Pius Mbidde, Davies Mayanja, Ibrahim Kayiwa, Mubarak Nsubuga, Tony Odur, Michael Birungi

Tony Kyamera, Charles Mutima, Hamis Batega, Nasir Mbabali, Eric Kambale, Lawrence Kigonya, Joel Male

%d bloggers like this: