Express cruise past Maroons to earn first win of the season

Express FC lining up for the game against Maroons 

By: Sinan Rajub Senoga 

Express FC has today got off the mark with a 2-0 win over Maroons FC at Wankulukuku Stadium. Goals from Daniel Muzeyi Serunkuuma and David Ndihabwe handed the 6 time Champions their first victory of the season to get off the bottom of the Azam Uganda premier league table.

Maroons and Express came into this fixture as the only teams yet to score a goal since the league kicked off on September 12th. It was striker Daniel Muzeyi Serunkuuma who broke the spell for Express FC when scored in the 12th minute.

Serunkuuma caught the Maroons goalkeeper Emma Akol off his line to volley the ball off Ochaya Sharif’s chest pass just outside the 18 yards box. 2 minutes earlier the dreadlocked striker had unsuccessfully attempted to score from a direct kick few inches from the same spot 3 only to miss the post by a whisker.

Maroons coach Asaph Mwebaze was forced to a tactical change when he brought off Godwin Kitagenda for Ssali Musa with 13 minutes to the halftime.

Express also made a double substitution introducing Michael Birungi and Juma Ssebaduka for Ochaya and Jose Maria at the start of the second stanza. Birungi subsequently made an immediate impact keeping the Maroons defense busy with 3 consecutive trials.

Maroons on the other end gained their feet after a responsive introduction of fresh legs in William Kiibi and Patrick Gonahasa minutes at the hour mark. They kept pushing for the equalizer but could not beat Buule Godwin in the Express goal.

David Ndihabwe ensured victory for the hosts with a header off a well floated cross from Sam Galiwango in the right wing with 9 minutes to normal time.

The win elevates Express from the 16th position to as far as the 11th place while Maroons sits at the base of the table with 2 points from four matches. Express will play host to URA at Wankulukuku after the international break whereas Maroons will travel to Bright Stars.

Express XI
Buule Godwin (GK), Ronnie Kisekka, Mutebi Peter, Bwogi Edgar, Agele Bernard, Omar Hitimana, David Ndihabwe, Ochaya Sharif, Daniel Muzeyi Serunkuuma, Nsubuga Mubarak, Lubega Jose Maria

Michael Birungi (Lubega Jose Maria), Juma Ssebaduka (Ochaya Sharif), Sam Galiwango (Daniel Serunkuuma)

Subs not used
Atiel Jeff (GK), Steven Luswata, Deo Othieno, Sulaiman Jjingo

Maroons XI
Akol Emmanuel (GK), Julius Kizito, Godwin Kitagenda, Maxwell Okello, Allan Anguyo, Richard Ayiko, Yayha Luuti, Felix Okot, Pius Obuya, Wadri William, Solomon Walusimbi

Ssali Musa (Godwin Kitagenda), William Kiibi (Pius Obuya), Patrick Gonahasa (Solomon Walusimbi)

Subs not used
Ashadu Bugembe, Samson Mutyaba, Solomon Ewol, Abudallah Senyonga

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: