Express 1-0 URA: The red Eagles edge URA to pile more pressure on Kirya

By: Sinan Rajub Senoga 

Express FC edged URA FC 1-0 to earn a second win of the season at Wankulukuku Stadium. A strike from Daniel Muzeyi Serunkuuma in the 45th minute was enough to subject the tax collectors to a second defeat this season.

Striker Serunkuuma was on target once again as he tapped home a rebound off goalkeeper Mathias Muwanga with few seconds to the closure of the first stanza.

Muwanga had successfully saved a towering header from Express center back Bernard Agele but failed on the following rebound as the ball fell on an unmarked Serunkuuma inside the 16 yards box who sent it to the roof of the net.

10 minutes earlier on, URA FC tactician Ibrahim Kirya was forced to an early substitute when he brought on Shafik Kagimu to replace Said Kyeyune who limped off.

The second half saw Kirya make a double substitution introducing Charles Sempa and Ajab Abdul Rahman for Allan Munaaba and Bokota Labama as early as the 50th minute to pursue for a leveller.

The tax collectors kept pushing for an equaliser but Express FC had a different idea resorting to sitting back to defend as well as capitalising on the counter attacks.

In the 70th minute, URA nearly found the elusive goal they were looking for when Bernard Agele nearly put the ball into his own net but was lucky it only produced a corner kick for the visitors.

The victory elevates Express to the 5th position while URA FC now occupies the 11th position on the Azam Uganda premier league table with 5 points.

Express FC will return to action next week when they play host to Onduparaka FC whereas URA FC hosts BUL FC at Namboole on Tuesday.

Express XI
Godwin Buule (GK), Ronnie Kisekka, Benard Agere, Sulaiman Jingo, Edgar Bwogi, Davis Mayanja, Steven Luswata, David Ndihabwe (C), Mubarak Nsubuga, Michael Birungi, Daniel Muzeyi Serunkuuma

Geofrey Atiel (GK), Omar Hitimana, Rashid Nsubuga, Steven Bengo, Abdul Karim Kasule, Salim Muhubi

Mathias Muwanga (GK), Fred Okot, Allan Munaaba (C), Julius Mutyaba, Richard Kasaga, Hood Mulikyi, Peter Lwasa, Said Kyeyune , Bokota Labama, Henry Kisekka, Brian Majwega

Alionzi Ajaib (GK), Paul Mboowa, Shafik Kagimu, Charles Sempa, Siraje Sentamu, Jimmy Kulaba, Ajab Abdul Rahman

%d bloggers like this: