DIGGING DEEPER INTO THE BIG LEAGUE: promotion and relegation

By: Ssemanda Yasin

The Fufa Big league is the second tier of Ugandan football and acts as a criteria for continuity in the Super league. It consists of two groups, the Rwenzori and the Elgon group, each group has thirteen (13) teams, three of which are promoted to Uganda premier league and the last four are relegated to respective Fufa Regional leagues.

The last three placed teams in the Uganda premier league are relegated to fufa big league to compensate the three places left by the teams that graduate from the Big league. Lweza FC, Sadolin Paints FC and JMC Hippos FC are the three teams that have been relegated from Uganda premier league to the Big league recently.

The big league promotes three teams to Uganda premier league in a way that sees the two teams which top both groups earn a direct spot in the top league while the four teams in both groups that finish in second and third place faceoff in a play off semi final for the last promotional place.

For the recent concluded season, the two teams that earned direct qualification to Uganda premier league this season were Maroons FC who topped the Elgon group and Masavu FC who topped the Rwenzori Group. However, the two played a final to determine the Big league Champion. Luzira based Maroons fc were crowned Champions after defeating Masavu fc 2-1.

The other four best placed teams from both Elgon and Rwenzori played against each other to determine the team that qualifies for 3rd and last promotional place to the Uganda premier league.

The third place playoffs kicked off on 7th May at Wankulukuku with
Mbarara City edging Ndejje University 5-4 in penalties following a 1-1 draw. Synergy FC defeated Kira United 3-1 to setting up a date with Mbarara City on 7th of May 2017

Mbarara City banked on a Makweth Awol brace to beat Synergy FC 2-1 with the winner coming in the last kick of the game.
Baza Holdings, Hope Doves, Entebbe FC & Boma Young were the teams relegated from the Rwenzori group. Boma Young withdrew from big league in the second round due to financial strains and were demoted.

Unlike the Rwenzori group, The Elgon group had 12 teams was after SC Victoria University ran out of existence. Relegated teams in this group, were Doves All Stars, Kyambogo FC and Moroto United FC

Eight teams are promoted to the Big league from the eight Fufa Regions which include Buganda Region, Kampala, Western, West Nile, Eastern, Northern, North East and Kitara Region. Each region promotes one team from their respective regional leagues.


Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: