Connect with us

Denis Onyango misses out on PSL Award


Denis Onyango misses out on PSL Award

By: Danito Nsubuga 

After losing their ABSA premiership title to Bidvest Wits, Mamelodi Sundowns and Denis Onyango succumbed to another defeat by Bidvest Wits and new comers Cape Town City at the South African Premier Soccer league awards ceremony.

In the event that was hosted at the Sandton Convention Center in Gauteng on Monday night July 10th, Champions Bidvets Wits emerged the big winners of the night after scooping 5 accolades Whereas Capetown City forward Lebogang Manyama was the biggest individual winner with 3 gongs after being voted ABSA Players’ Player of the season, PSL Footballer of the season and ABSA Premiership Top scorer.

Denis Onyango lost his crown to Bidvest Wits’ Darren Keet despite having a better statistic all round. Darren Keet managed 9 clean sheets out of 23 games played compared to Onyango ‘s better ratio of 10 clean sheets from 18 games.

Full list of the winners

MTN8 Last Man Standing: Daine Klate (Bidvest Wits)

Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament: Aubrey Ngoma (Cape Town City)

Nedbank Cup Young Player of the Tournament: Nduduzo Sibiya (Golden Arrows)

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament: Abbubaker Mobara (Orlando Pirates)

NFD Top goal scorer (winner): Sedwyn George (Royal Eagles – 20)

MultiChoice Diski Challenge Top Goal Scorer: Tshegofatso Mabaso (Bloemfontein Celtic – 12)

MultiChoice Diski Challenge Player of the Tournament: Keletso Makgalwa (Mamelodi Sundowns)

PSL Assistant Referee of the Season: Luvuyo Pupuma

PSL Referee of the Season: Phelelani Ndaba

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season: Darren Keet (Bidvest Wits)

Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season: Phakamani Mahlambi (Bidvest Wits)

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season: Gavin Hunt (Bidvest Wits)

Absa Premiership Top goal scorer: Lebogang Manyama (Cape Town City – 13)

Absa Premiership Defender of the Season: Thulani Hlatshwayo (Bidvest Wits)

Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season: Aubrey Ngoma (Cape Town City)

Absa Premiership Goal of the Season: Siphiwe Tshabalala (Chiefs vs SuperSport United, 29 April 2017)

Absa Premiership Players’ Player of the Season: Lebogang Manyama (Cape Town City)

PSL Footballer of the Season: Lebogang Manyama (Cape Town City)

(Additional notes by

More in Football

To Top
%d bloggers like this: