Denis Onyango eyes another ABSA Premiership Award

By: Danito Nsubuga 

Ugandan custodian Denis Onyango has been nominated for the goal keeper of the year in the South African ABSA premiership. After having a stellar 2016 where he won the African Player of the year based in Africa, being named on the CAF finest 11 and also being ranked the 10th best goalkeeper in the world by the International Federation of football history and statistics. He has been shortlisted together with Darren Keet of Bidvest Wits and Shuaib Walters of Cape Town City.

Despite failing to win any local silver ware, a number of Mamelodi players have managed to be nominated for various accolades these include Midfielder Percy Tau, Hlompho Kekana, Motjeka Madisha, and Coach Pitso Mosimane. Mamelodi claimed the CAF Champions League and CAF Super cup and they finished 2nd behind champions Bidvets wits.

Onyango in action for Mamelodi sundowns 

The ABSA premiership champions dominate the nominees list after also winning the MTN8 Cup. The awards ceremony is set to be staged on July 10th at the Sandton Convention centre in Gauteng.
The full list of nominees

ABSA Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season: 

Darren Keet (Bidvest Wits), Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns), Shuaib Walters (Cape Town City)

ABSA Premiership Defender of the Season: 

Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Kaizer Chiefs), Sifiso Hlanti, Thulani Hlatshwayo (both Bidvest Wits)

ABSA Premiership Midfielder of the Season:

Aubrey Ngoma (Cape Town City), Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thabang Monare (Bidvest Wits)

ABSA Premiership Top goal scorer (winner): Lebogang Manyama (Cape Town City)

ABSA Premiership Coach of the Season: 

Eric Tinkler (Cape Town City), Gavin hunt (Bidvest Wits), Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

ABSA Premiership Young Player of the Season: 

Motjeka Madisha (Mamelodi Sundowns), Nduduzo Sibiya (Golden Arrows), Phakamani Mahlambi (Bidvest Wits)

Mamelodi forward Percy Tau is among the favourites for player of the season 

ABSA Premiership Player of the Season:

Aubrey Ngoma, Lebogang Manyama (both Cape Town City), Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament: 

Abbubaker Mobara, Mpho Makola (both Orlando Pirates), Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United)

Nedbank Cup Young Player of the Tournament:

Nduduzo Sibiya, Siyabonga Dube (both Golden Arrows), Teboho Mokeona (SuperSport United)

MTN 8 Last Man Standing: 

Thulani Hlatshwayo, Daine Klate, Gabadinho Mhango (all Bidvest Wits)

Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament: 

Aubrey Ngoma, Lebogang Manyama (both Cape Town City), Michael Boxall (SuperSport United)

NFD Top goal scorer (winner): Sedwyn George (Royal Eagles)


Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: