CRICKET: ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Africa Final launched


Uganda will host the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Africa from May 17th-25th in Kampala. The development was confirmed by the International Cricket Council manager for Africa Patricia Kambarani last year in October.

The event will have 15 games featuring six Nations that are Botswana, Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, Namibia and hosts Uganda. The top two nations will progress to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier in United Arab Emirates from October 11th to November 3rd, 2019.

In preparation for the tournament, the Uganda Cricket Association has appointed a 11 man local organising committee ( LOC), chaired by Paul Kaheru to ensure that the Pearl of Africa host a successful event just like the 2017 ICC Division III World Cricket League.

Kaheru told that Press that he is delighted to lead the LOC and believes they will host a successful tournament

“I am privileged to have been given the honour to lead the LOC as I did when we hosted the World Cricket League Division III a few years ago. The team is almost the same and I trust that we will deliver an even better tournament than we did back then.”

Our wish is that we have bigger crowds as we intend to provide a great atmosphere at a the games.” Stated Kaheru.

He will be assisted by Uganda Cricket Association CEO Martin Ondeko and other nine members of the committee include, Cissy Musiime ( Security), Dr. Dennis Buwembo ( Medical), Innocent Ndaula ( Media and Communications), Alvin Bagaya ( Accommodation), Rita Tinka ( Catering ), Grace Mutyagaba ( Transport), Denis Musali ( Liaison), Hanumant Katkar ( Stadia) and Kenneth Mulondo for accreditation.

Tournament fixtures
19 May 2019
•Namibia Vs Botswana 9:30 am at Lugogo Cricket Oval
•Nigeria Vs Ghana at 9:30am, Kyambogo Cricket Oval
•Uganda Vs Kenya at 1:50pm, Lugogo

20th May, 2019
•Ghana Vs Namibia at 9:30am, Lugogo
•Kenya Vs Nigeria at 9:30 am, Kyambogo
•Uganda Vs Botswana at 1:50 Pm, Lugogo

21st May, 2019
•Kenya Vs

%d bloggers like this: