COPA COCA COLA: St. Mary’s Kitende outclass Jinja SS to win ninth title



St. Mary’s Kitende humbled Jinja Secondary School 3-1 to clinch the Copa Coca-Cola Schools cup for the 9th time in history.

Tezikya Lawrence gave the Jinja Secondary School an early lead with a powerful header to send the fully packed fans at Kakindu Stadium into a bouncing frenzy.

The 2017 Champions were dominant in the first period with danger man Edrine Mukisa Opaala causing all sorts of problems to Kitende defence.

Enter the second period, Kitende tactician Abbey Male introduced on Najib Yiga and Umar Kyebatala for Steven Serwadda and Charles Lwanga who had minimal impact on the game.

Kyebatala restored parity moments after replacing Lwanga following a goalkeeping error.

Najib Yiga netted the second with a perfect header to put Kitende into dreamland.

Richard Basangwa extended Kitende’s lead to put the cherry on the ice of the cake.

Immediately after the third goal, fans threw  stones on the pitch, Police fired tear gas canisters to calm down the situation. At full-time whistle, Kitende were crowned Champions for the 9th time in their history. Their last triumph was in 2015.

In the third place playoff, last year’s Champions Buddo edged Standard High Zana 2-0.

206 games were played, 197 yellow cards and 23 red cards were splashed out during the two weeks tourney. This was the 27th edition of the competition however the 26th with Coca-Cola as the title sponsors.

Kitende are previous winners in 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2015.

Mukisa Edrine Opaala from Jinja SS was named this year’s Most Valuable player while Tezikya Lawrence also from Jinja was the top scorer with 13 goals. He was also the the top scorer in 2017 and 2018.

%d bloggers like this: