Copa Coca-Cola Schools Cup officially kick off in Jinja


On Tuesday 7th May, the 27th edition of the Copa Coca-Cola schools competition was officially kicked off at Kakindu Stadium in Jinja. This is however, the 26th time with Coca-Cola as the title sponsors.

Omara Peter the commissioner for physical education in the country was the chief guest at the opening ceremony.

Officials from National Council for Sports, FUFA and main sponsors Coca-Cola were in attendance.

Players and officials had a procession around Jinja town before gathering at Kakindu Stadium.

Mathias Isabirye the headmaster of Jinja College who are the hosts for this year’s edition is confident they will have a successful football competition

“I am delighted to welcome you all in Jinja for this year’s Copa Coca-Cola schools cup and I assure everyone that we shall host a successful football competition.” I wish every participating school all the best in the competition.”

This is the third time Jinja District is hosting the tournament. Kibuli Secondary school are the record champions on 10 trophies.

The two weeks event will run until May 18th when the undisputed Champions will be crowned. Buddo Secondary School are the defending champions.

St. John’s Mukono humbled hosts Jinja College 2-0 in their opening fixture, courtesy of Sulaiman Kimbugwe and Ratif Kaswa goals.

Below are the fixtures for Wednesday 8th May

•Kashenyi Secondary
School Vs Tororo Town College.
•Ryakasinga Che Vs Kitala Model.
•Archi Bishop Flynn Vs Kitala Model.
•Kawempe Royal Vs Masaka Secondary School.
•Buddo Secondary School Vs Alliance High School.
•Akii Bua Comprehensive Secondary School Vs Mulusa Academy.
•Kapchorwa Standard Vs High Standard Kateera
•JIPRA Vs Restore Leadership High School.
•St Mary’s Rushoroza Vs St Andrews
•Sseke Secondary School Vs St Kaggwa.
•Bulo Parents Vs Nabbongo Secondary School
•Abim Secondary School Vs Kakungulu Memorial.
•St Andrea Vs Loro Secondary School.
•St John’s High School Mukono Vs Kigezi College Butobera.
•Mbale Progressive Vs Royal Giant High School.
•Sentah Vs Jinja College.
UMHS Rubaga Vs Mandela Secondary School.
•Musedde Memorial Vs Paidha Secondary School.
•Fort Portal Secondary School Vs Iganga Parents.
•Mbarara High School Vs Nakaseke International College.
•Nyangula Vs St Joseph’s Layibi
•Kamwenge Secondary Vacational School Vs St Julian High School Gayaza

%d bloggers like this: