CECAFA Kagame Cup : Vipers SC pitted against defending champions in Group A

Vipers line up

By: Sinan Rajub Senoga 

Uganda premier league champions Vipers SC have been pitted in Group A of the upcoming CECAFA Kagame Cup slated for 28th June to July 13th 2018.

Group A also comprises of Tanzanian heavyweights and defending Champions Azam FC, JKU of Zanzibar and Kator FC from South Sudan.

Vipers will also be making their second appearance in this regional tournament after representing Uganda in 2011 in Tanzania but couldn’t get past Simba SC in the quarter finals.

Group C is the group of death consisting of Tanzanian rivals Simba SC and Yanga Africans alongside Ethiopian giants St. George and Somali champions Deekadah FC.

Godfrey Walusimbi’s Gor Mahia has been grouped in Group B alongside Rayon Sports of Rwanda, Lydia Ludic of Burundi and Ports of Djibouti.

The CECAFA Kagame tournament is on a return after a 2-year break and will be staged in Tanzania. Azam FC are the holders after they edged Gor Mahia 2-0 in the 2015 final in Tanzania.

Police FC remains the most recent Ugandan club to taste the CECAFA Kagame cup glory in 2006.

Group A
Azam FC (Tanzania)
Vipers SC (Uganda)
JKU (Zanzibar)
Kator FC (South Sudan)

Group B
Gor Mahia (Kenya)
Rayon Sports (Rwanda)
Lydia Ludic (Burundi)
Ports (Djibouti)

Group C
Yanga Africans (Tanzania)
St. George (Ethiopia)
Simba SC (Tanzania)
Deekadah (Somalia)

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: