CAF CC: Mukwala brace hands URA first leg superiority over Ethiopia Coffee

URA FC will take on the Ethiopians in the second leg on Saturday 18th September to determine which team progresses to the next round.


URA FC (Uganda) 2-1 Ethiopia Coffee (Ethiopia)

Steven Mukwala scored a brace for URA FC as they earned a first leg advantage over Ethiopia Coffee FC at St Mary’s Stadium in Kitende.

William Solomon Tesfay scored the away goal for the visitors.

Mukwala headed the home side in the lead after only 23 minutes off a Viane Ssekajugo ball.

The Cranes striker flawlessly slotted the ball into the back of the net 14 minutes later to double the lead for the Ugandans.

The Tax Collectors had a comfortable lead going into halftime.

The Ethiopians slowly built into the game in the second stanza and Willam Solomon Tesfay pulled one back for the visitors only after 10 minutes of re-start.

The industrious forward beat URA’s defense to calmly place the ball past the trying gloves of goalkeeper Alionzi Nafian.

Patrick Mboowa, Shafik Kagimu and second half substitute Joachim Ojera all had opportunities to further URA’s lead but failed to convert.

Coffee’s Endale Debalke Yalew had his shot go inches wide with Alionzi already beaten with just eight minutes left to play.

URA FC will have to travel to Ethiopia for the return match on Saturday 18th September.


Alionzi Nafien (GK), Ashraf Mandela, Derrick Ndahiro, Najib Fesali, Hudu Muliki, Patrick Mboowa, Viane Ssekajugo, Shafik Kagimu(C), Said Kyeyune, Steven Mukwala, Cromwell Rwothomio


James Alitho (GK), Benjamin Nyakoojo, Ronald Kigongo, Ibrahim Dada, Living Kabon, Joachim Ojera, Ivan Sserubiri, Faruku Katongole, Mikidad Ssenyonga.

Ethiopian Coffee FC XI

Abel Mamo Gebreyohans (GK), Abebe Tilahun Feyissa, Wondmeneh Dereje Shiferaw, Tefesse Solomon Shewamene, Mikeyas Mekonen Gudisa, Amanuel Yohannes Gamo, Abubaker Nasir Ahmed, Asrat Toyolo, William Solomon Tesfay, Endale Debalke Yalew, Hail Gebretinsae Gebrekorstos.


Bereket Amar’e Kidanu (GK), Abel Endale Gizaw, Tediros Meta, Redwan Ahmed, Seyoum Tesfaye Moges, Alazare Zalaka, Robel Bahta, Yeabkal Lemu, Nathanael Abreha

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: