CAF CC : End of road for Proline after home defeat to Al Nasr


Proline crashed out of the CAF Confederation Cup as Khalid Almaryami and Osama Albedwi scored goals in each half to send Al Nasr in the group stages with a stunning 2-0 win at StarTimes Stadium on Sunday.

The Libyans progressed by a 4-2 aggregate score after a 2-2 first leg draw.

Almaryami inspired the visitors into an early lead to send the traveling fans into a bouncing frenzy.

Bright Anukani nearly leveled matters in the 20th minute but his effort hit the crossbar.

On the 32nd minute mark, Joseph Mandela was also denied by the crossbar with a powerful header.

After the recess, Proline tactician Matia Lule made a double change with Joshua Ocen Okiror and Allan Egaku coming on for Sam Kintu and Arnold Sserunjogi.

Anukani’s effort in the 52nd minute was saved by Al Nasr goalie Abdelrhman Alriaydh.

Moments later, Defender Bernard Muwanga also had his effort kiss the crossbar.

Muwanga denied Almaryami a clear sight of goal with a timely block in the 63rd minute.

Two minute later, Osama doubled the visitors advantage with a sensational long range strike from 30 yards that beat Proline custodian Hassan Matovu.

Noordin Bunjo nearly got the home side on board in the final minute but was denied by custodian Alriaydh.

Al Nasr prevailed to the group stages of the competition 4-2 on aggregate.

Proline XI :

Hassan Matovu (G.K), Yusuf Mukisa, Saka Mpiima, Bernard Muwanga, Mustafa Mujjuzi (Captain), Arnold Sserunjogi, Sam Kintu, Joseph Mandela, Ibrahim Wamannah, Hamis Kiiza, Bright Anukani

Subs Not Used: Shatif Magoola (G.K), James Begisa, Ibrahim Sendi, Noordin Bunjo, Allan Egaku, Richard Ajuna, Joshua Ocen Okiror

Al Nasr XI:

Abdelrhman Alriaydh (G.K), Hamed Abdulgader (Captain), Osama Ibrahim Albedwi, Muhanad Alajeelo, Khalid Almaryami, Adrees Abdulnasir Aldharrat, Muetaz Husayn, Abdalla Abdelrhman, Salah Aldeen Fakroun, Abdalla Sherif

Subs: Fathi Abdullah (G.K), Sadam El Werfalli, Ahmed Al Jaddawi, Abdulsalam Abdulsalam, Ziyad Alelwani, Junior Figongang, Elsay Ezuldeen

Match Officials:

Referee: Elsiddig Mohamed Eltreefe (Sudan)
Assistant Referee 1: Elmoiz Ali Mohamed Ahmed (Sudan)
Assistant Referee 2: Haitham Elnour Ahmed (Sudan)
Fourth Official: Hafiz Abdelghani Alamen (Sudan)
Commissioner: Muhsin Ali Rajab (Zanzibar)

%d bloggers like this: